book cover of The Serpent\'s Mark
Added by 25 of our members

The Serpent's Mark

(2019)
(The second book in the Nicholas Shelby series)
A novel by

 
 
From the author of The Angel's Mark, a CWA Dagger longlisted novel and a Walter Scott Prize Academy Recommended Read 2019

'S.W. Perry's ingeniously plotted novels have become my favourite historical crime series.' S. G. MacLean, author of The Seeker series
____________________

Treason sleeps for no man...

London, 1591. Nicholas Shelby, physician and reluctant spy, returns to his old haunts on London's lawless Bankside. But, when spymaster Robert Cecil asks him to investigate the dubious practices of a mysterious doctor from Switzerland, Nicholas is soon embroiled in a conspiracy that threatens not just the life of an innocent young patient, but the overthrow of Queen Elizabeth herself.

With fellow healer and mistress of the Jackdaw tavern, Bianca Merton, again at his side, Nicholas is drawn into a sinister world of zealots, charlatans and dangerous fanatics...

Genre: Historical Mystery

Praise for this book

"A gorgeous book - rich, intelligent and dark in equal measure. It immerses you in the late 16th century and leaves you wrung out with terror. This is historical fiction at its most sumptuous..." - Rory Clements

"Wonderful! Beautiful writing, and Perry's Elizabethan London is so skilfully evoked, so real that one can almost smell it." - Giles Kristian

"The writing is of such a quality, the characters so engaging and the setting so persuasive that, only two books in, S.W. Perry's ingeniously plotted novels have become my favourite historical crime series." - S G MacLean

"The Serpent's Mark is an excellent evocation of Elizabethan England, with espionage, intricate conspiracies, strange medical practises and a gripping story. A rattling good read." - William Ryan

"No-one is better than S. W. Perry at leading us through the squalid streets of London in the sixteenth century." - Andrew Swanston


Similar books by other authors

thumb
A Rustle of Silk
(Gabriel Taverner Mystery, book 1)
Alys Clare
thumb
A Choir of Crows
(Owen Archer, book 12)
Candace Robb
thumb
Martyr
(John Shakespeare, book 1)
Rory Clements

Used availability for S W Perry's The Serpent's Mark

Hardback Editions

June 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Serpent's Mark (The Jackdaw Mysteries)
Author(s): S W Perry
ISBN: 1-78649-496-5 / 978-1-78649-496-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

November 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Serpent's Mark (The Jackdaw Mysteries)
Author(s): S W Perry
ISBN: 1-78649-498-1 / 978-1-78649-498-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

November 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Serpent's Mark (The Jackdaw Mysteries)
Author(s): S W Perry
ISBN: 0-655-69204-5 / 978-0-655-69204-1
Publisher: Bolinda Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


November 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Serpent's Mark (The Jackdaw Mysteries)
Author(s): S W Perry
ISBN: 0-655-69227-4 / 978-0-655-69227-0
Publisher: Bolinda Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


June 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Serpent's Mark: 2 (The Jackdaw Mysteries)
Author(s): S W Perry
ISBN: 0-655-60132-5 / 978-0-655-60132-6
Publisher: Bolinda audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


June 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Serpent's Mark: 2 (The Jackdaw Mysteries)
Author(s): S W Perry
ISBN: 0-655-60133-3 / 978-0-655-60133-3
Publisher: Bolinda audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


June 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Serpent's Mark: The Jackdaw Mysteries, Book 2
Author(s): S W Perry
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


June 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Serpent's Mark: The Jackdaw Mysteries, Book 2
Author(s): S W Perry
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


June 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Serpent's Mark: The Jackdaw Mysteries, Book 2
Author(s): S W Perry
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

June 2019 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Serpent's Mark (The Jackdaw Mysteries)
Author(s): S W Perry
Publisher: Atlantic Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Serpent's Mark: Perfect for fans of Rory Clements and S G MacLean (The Jackdaw Mysteries Book 2)
Author(s): S W Perry
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU