Priscilla Royal's picture

Priscilla Royal

USA flag

Priscilla Royal, author of several books from Poisoned Pen Press in the Prioress Eleanor and Brother Thomas medieval mystery series, grew up in British Columbia and earned a BA in World Literature at San Francisco State University where she discovered the beauty of medieval literature. Before retiring from the US Federal Government in 2000, she worked in a variety of jobs, all of which provided an excellent education in the complexity of human experience and motivation. She is a theater fan as well as a reader of history, mystery, and fiction of lesser violence. The authors who most inspired her to commit medieval murder were Ellis Peters and Sharon Kay Penman. She is a member of California Writers Club, Mystery Writers of America, and Sisters in Crime.

Genres: Historical Mystery
Medieval Mystery
   1. Wine of Violence (2003)
   2. Tyrant of the Mind (2004)
   3. Sorrow Without End (2006)
   4. Justice for the Damned (2007)
   5. Forsaken Soul (2008)
   6. Chambers of Death (2009)
   7. Valley of Dry Bones (2010)
   8. Killing Season (2011)
   9. Sanctity of Hate (2012)
   10. Covenant with Hell (2013)
   11. Satan's Lullaby (2015)
   12. Land of Shadows (2016)
   13. The Proud Sinner (2017)
   14. Wild Justice (2018)
   15. The Twice-Hanged Man (2019)
   Favas Can Be Fatal (2006)
Omnibus editions show
Priscilla Royal recommends
The Land Beyond the Sea (2019)
Sharon Kay Penman
"As one of Ms. Penman's oldest and most ardent fans, I believe The Land Beyond the Sea ranks as one of her three most accomplished and compelling books. Her books should never be gulped, only savored, and readers will be thrilled to both read and reread her latest."

Anthologies containing stories by Priscilla Royal
Bound By Mystery (2017)
Celebrating 20 Years of Poisoned Pen Press
edited by
Diane D DiBiase

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors