Andrew E Svenson

USA flag (1910 - 1975)

aka Jerry West

Andrew E. Svenson was an American children's author, publisher, and partner in the Stratemeyer Syndicate. Under a number of different pseudonyms, Svenson authored or coauthored more than 70 books for children.

Svenson was born in New Jersey in 1910. After graduating from the University of Pittsburgh in 1932, he went to work for the Newark Evening News, where he stayed until 1948. After leaving the newspaper, he joined the Stratemeyer Syndicate, where he became a partner in 1961.

While at Stratemeyer, Svenson shared the major writing chores with Harriet Adams. Under a variety of pseudonyms, many shared with other authors, Svenson wrote books for the Hardy Boys, Bobbsey Twins, Tom Swift, and Honey Bunch series.

Genres: Children's Fiction
Hardy Boys
   28. The Sign of the Crooked Arrow (1949)
   29. The Secret of the Lost Tunnel (1950)
   30. The Wailing Siren Mystery (1951)
   45. Mystery of the Spiral Bridge (1965)
   48. The Arctic Patrol Mystery (1969)
   50. Danger on Vampire Trail (1971)
   52. The Shattered Helmet (1973)
   53. The Clue of the Hissing Serpent (1974)
   54. The Mysterious Caravan (1975)

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors