1 follower
11 books added

Jack Snow

USA flag (1907 - 1956)

Snow, John Frederick 'Jack'- American author of Oz books. At L. Frank Baum's death, 12‐year‐old Jack wrote to the publishers Reilly & Lee and offered to continue the Kinder‐ und Hausmärchen series. Nineteen years later, he got his wish. As the Fourth Royal Historian of Oz, he imitated Baum's writing style and purified Oz of non‐Baum characters in Magical Mimics in Oz (1947) and The Shaggy Man of Oz (1949). By this date, however, post‐war America was losing interest in Oz, and Snow's novels were not popular. He later compiled Who's Who in Oz (1954), an illustrated encyclopaedia based on his extensive collection of Baumiana and Oziana.

Genres: Children's Fiction
   Dark Music (1947)
Series contributed to
   37. The Magical Mimics in Oz (1946)
   38. The Shaggy Man of Oz (1949)
   Who's Who in Oz (1954)
Books containing stories by Jack Snow
Witches and Warlocks (1989)
Tales of Black Magic
edited by
Marvin Kaye

More books 

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors