book cover of Napoleon\'s Run
Added by 14 of our members

Napoleon's Run

(2020)
(The first book in the William John Hazzard series)
A novel by

 
 

'Better than Sharpe... Napoleon’s Run deserves to be a runaway success’
Ben Kane, Sunday Times bestselling author of Lionheart

One man against an armada

London, 1798. Late one night, a junior naval officer at the Admiralty intercepts a coded despatch, marked with blood: Napoleon Bonaparte is about to launch the largest invasion fleet in history. Target: unknown.

England is vulnerable, bereft of allies, and the Sea Lords fear a direct assault on Britain. Admiralty Intelligence sounds the alarm and prepares to unleash Nelson and the Mediterranean squadron.

But before they can, they need vital information. They need a special officer to infiltrate by land or by sea to uncover the destination of Napoleon’s armada – a man who never stops.

Marine Lt William John Hazzard.

But will he agree to help them?

Betrayed by the Admiralty at the African Cape three years earlier, Hazzard has vowed never to trust them again. Bitter memories poisoned his return home, and his devoted fiancée Sarah, unable to bear his pain any longer, disappears in Naples – never to be seen again.

But the Admiralty knows just how to get him back.

They know where Sarah is, and her life is in danger…

From pitched sea-battles to back-street duels in a covert war, this is the epic adventure of the new hero of Napoleonic fiction: Hazzard. Perfect for fans of Seth Hunter, Bernard Cornwell and CS Forester.

Never give up the boat.

Praise for Napoleon's Run

‘This is an outstanding novel, made even more remarkable by its début status. I loved it, from the first page to the end. Better than Sharpe, gripping and intense, Napoleon’s Run deserves to be a runaway success’ Ben Kane, Sunday Times bestselling author of Lionheart

'Hornblower meets Mission: Impossible. A thrilling, page-turning debut packed with rousing, rip-roaring action' J. D. Davies, author of the Matthew Quinton Journals

'Outstanding... Packed to the gunwales with action, this fast-paced story introduces us to William Hazzard, a Marine Lieutenant who takes on not just Napoleon, but also the espionage and machinations of the new French Republic during the reign of terror, Neapolitan high society, and even the British Admiralty itself. Leading a crew of wonderfully-drawn characters, Hazzard is not only a convincing action hero, but also one who offers a timeless insight into loyalty, trust and honesty. A thumping read' Chris Lloyd, author of The Unwanted Dead

‘This book has a rich cast of characters who will delight, enthral and keep you turning the pages to the very end. A brilliant, thrilling read, with a new – and very believable – hero. This is my favourite historical novel of the year so far’ Michael Jecks, author of the Last Templar Mysteries

'A strong, fast-moving story by an author with a deep knowledge of the period and the narrative skill of a fine story-teller' Andrew Swanston, author of Waterloo

'A great read! Well-tempered and well-researched, with well-drawn characters who will, I am sure, be with us for a while' Rob Low, author of The Lion Wakes

'Loads of action and plenty of plot twists, meticulously researched with a fine period feel' A.J. MacKenzie, author of The Ballad of John MacLea

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"Hornblower meets Mission: Impossible. A thrilling, page-turning debut packed with rousing, rip-roaring action." - J D Davies

"This book has a rich cast of characters who will delight, enthral and keep you turning the pages to the very end. A brilliant, thrilling read, with a new - and very believable - hero. This is my favourite historical novel of the year so far." - Michael Jecks

"This is an outstanding novel, made even more remarkable by its début status. I loved it, from the first page to the end. Better than Sharpe, gripping and intense, Napoleon's Run deserves to be a runaway success." - Ben Kane

"Outstanding... Packed to the gunwales with action, this fast-paced story introduces us to William Hazzard, a Marine Lieutenant who takes on not just Napoleon, but also the espionage and machinations of the new French Republic during the reign of terror, Neapolitan high society, and even the British Admiralty itself. Leading a crew of wonderfully-drawn characters, Hazzard is not only a convincing action hero, but also one who offers a timeless insight into loyalty, trust and honesty. A thumping read." - Chris Lloyd

"A great read! Well-tempered and well-researched, with well-drawn characters who will, I am sure, be with us for a while." - Robert Low

"Loads of action and plenty of plot twists, meticulously researched with a fine period feel." - A J MacKenzie

"A strong, fast-moving story by an author with a deep knowledge of the period and the narrative skill of a fine story-teller." - Andrew Swanston


Similar books by other authors

thumb
After Dunkirk
(After Dunkirk, book 1)
Lee Jackson
thumb
Blood Oath
(Warrior's Path, book 1)
Malcolm Archibald
thumb
The Emperor's Exile
(Eagles of the Empire, book 19)
Simon Scarrow

Used availability for Jonathan Spencer's Napoleon's Run

Paperback Editions

January 2021 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Napoleon's Run: An epic naval adventure of espionage and action (The William John Hazzard series): 1
Author(s): Jonathan Spencer
ISBN: 1-80032-282-8 / 978-1-80032-282-0
Publisher: Canelo
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

September 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Napoleon's Run: An epic naval adventure of espionage and action (The William John Hazzard series Book 1)
Author(s): Jonathan Spencer
Publisher: Canelo Adventure
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU