M C Scott's picture

M C Scott

A pseudonym used by Manda Scott

MC Scott taught veterinary surgery at the universities of Cambridge and Dublin before taking up a career as a novelist. Now founder and Chair of the Historical Writers' Association, the novels have been shortlisted for the Orange Prize, nominated for an Edgar Award and translated into over twenty languages. In addition to the bestselling Boudica series, Scott is the author of an acclaimed sequence of Roman novels featuring the emperor's spy, Sebastos Pantera.

Genres: Historical
   1. The Emperor's Spy (2010)
     aka The Fire of Rome
   2. The Coming of the King (2011)
   3. The Eagle Of The Twelfth (2012)
   4. The Art of War (2013)
M C Scott recommends
Hawk Quest (2012)
Robert Lyndon
"Only once in a generation does a first novel emerge which has such power and depth and scope. With Hawk Quest, Robert Lyndon has shown himself a master storyteller of the highest quality. An absorbing, viscerally moving epic that takes the standard historical fare of love, treachery, passion, and redemption and lifts them into a new stratosphere. I got lost in this for days on end, and never wanted to emerge. Outstanding!"
Treason's Spring (2017)
(Archives Of The Comptrollerate-General For Scrutiny And Survey, book 4)
Robert Wilton
"Exhilarating, passionate, inspiring and literate and will garner new readers from lovers of Hilary Mantel and Bernard Cornwell alike."
Triumph in Dust (2018)
(Twilight of Empire, book 6)
Ian Ross
"This is up there with Harry Sidebottom and Ben Kane and is destined for the premier league."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors