book cover of An Old Man\'s Game
Added by 8 of our members
 

An Old Man's Game

(2019)
(The first book in the Amos Parisman Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
"Andy Weinberger has done something extraordinary with his first novel: he’s written a truly great detective novel that is fresh and original, but already feels like it’s a classic. In the tradition of Walter Mosley, Raymond Chandler, and Sue Grafton, semi-retired private eye Amos Parisman roams LA’s seedy and not-so-seedy neighborhoods in pursuit of justice. I don’t want another Amos Parisman novel—I want a dozen more!”
Amy Stewart

When a controversial celebrity rabbi drops dead over his matzoh ball soup at the famed Canter's Deli in Los Angeles, retired private eye Amos Parisman— a sixtyish, no-nonsense Jewish detective who lives with his addled wife in Park La Brea—is hired by the temple's board to make sure everything is kosher. As he looks into what seems to be a simple, tragic accident, the ante is raised when more people start to die or disappear, and Amos uncovers a world of treachery and hurt that shakes a large L.A. Jewish community to its core.



Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"I loved An Old Man's Game. Amos Parisman must return!" - Cara Black

"Andy Weinberger has created an absolutely charming private investigator that readers will follow from book to book. L.A.'s Fairfax District--get ready for your close-up!" - Naomi Hirahara

"If Isaac Singer wrote an L.A. gumshoe novel, it would be in lively conversation with An Old Man's Game, the first of what I hope is a series of Amos Parisman mysteries by the immensely talented Andy Weinberger. The writing here, to quote Sam Shepard, is 'full of crazy and comical pathos, ' and the story itself brings the L.A. Jewish community fabulously and vividly alive. This is a ribald private-eye tale full of genius and originality." - Howard Norman

"Andy Weinberger has done something extraordinary with his first novel: he's written a truly great detective novel that is fresh and original, but already feels like it's a classic. In the tradition of Walter Mosley, Raymond Chandler, and Sue Grafton, semi-retired private eye Amos Parisman roams LA's seedy and not-so-seedy neighborhoods in pursuit of justice. I don't want another Amos Parisman novel--I want a dozen more!" - Amy Stewart


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Andy Weinberger's An Old Man's Game

Hardback Editions

December 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: An Old Man's Game: An Amos Parisman Mystery (Amos Parisman Mysteries, 1)
Author(s): Andy Weinberger
ISBN: 1-68442-872-6 / 978-1-68442-872-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Prospect Park Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


Paperback Editions

December 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: An Old Man's Game: An Amos Parisman Mystery (Amos Parisman Mysteries, 1)
Author(s): Andy Weinberger
ISBN: 1-945551-64-X / 978-1-945551-64-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Prospect Park Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2021 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: An Old Man's Game
Author(s): Andy Weinberger
Publisher: Tantor and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


June 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: An Old Man's Game: Amos Parisman Mysteries, Book 1
Author(s): Andy Weinberger
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   


June 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: An Old Man's Game: Amos Parisman Mysteries, Book 1
Author(s): Andy Weinberger
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


June 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: An Old Man's Game: Amos Parisman Mysteries, Book 1
Author(s): Andy Weinberger
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: An Old Man's Game: Amos Parisman Mysteries, Book 1
Author(s): Andy Weinberger
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

December 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: An Old Man's Game: An Amos Parisman Mystery (Amos Parisman Mysteries Book 1)
Author(s): Andy Weinberger
Publisher: Prospect Park Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU