book cover of Sisters of the Resistance
Added by 15 of our members

Sisters of the Resistance

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
One of PopSugar's Best Books of June!

Two sisters join the Paris Resistance in this page-turning new novel inspired by the real-life bravery of Catherine Dior, sister of the fashion designer and a heroine of World War II France—perfect for fans of Kate Quinn and Jennifer Chiaverini.

"As dazzling as a Dior gown! With a gorgeous blend of fashion, heartbreak, heroism, and love this book will transport you to France...” —Natasha Lester, New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Secret

Paris, 1944: The war is nearly over, but for members of the Resistance in occupied France, it is more dangerous than ever before. Twenty-five-year-old Gabby Foucher loathes the Nazis, though as the concierge of 10 rue Royale, she does her best to avoid conflict—unlike her bolder sister Yvette, who finds trouble at every turn. 

Then they are both recruited into the Resistance by Catherine Dior and swept into a treacherous world of spies, fugitives, and intrigue. While Gabby risks everything for the man she is hiding from the Nazis, Yvette must decide whether to trust an enigmatic diplomat who seems to have guessed her secret. As the threat of betrayal draws ever-closer, one slip could mean the deaths of many, and both sisters must make choices they might regret. 

Paris, 1947: Yvette returns from New York to reunite with Gabby and begin life anew as a mannequin for Dior, who is revolutionizing fashion with the New Look. But first she must discover the truth behind Catherine’s terrible fate, while Gabby finds that there are many kinds of courage, and that love is always worth fighting for.



Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"Beautiful and compelling, Christine Wells’ Sisters of the Resistance skillfully weaves a story of ordinary women rising against the Nazis in the harrowing, final days of World War II Paris... Full of nuanced characters, remarkable bravery, and surprises, the pages of this novel all but turn themselves. A must read!" - Kristin Beck

"Sisters of the Resistance by Christine Wells is a breathless rollercoaster of love, suspense and danger – and all spiced with the timeless glamour of the launch of Christian Dior's New Look. This story...will have you turning the pages at light speed!" - Anna Campbell

"As dazzling as a Dior gown! Sisters of the Resistance tells the fascinating story of two sisters working with Catherine Dior and the French Resistance during WWII. With a gorgeous blend of fashion, heartbreak, heroism, and love this book will transport you to France..." - Natasha Lester

"Brimming with danger, adventure, and Dior, Sisters of the Resistance kept me guessing to the end. This story of two sisters working for the French resistance beautifully explores the vast gray area between right and wrong, love and hate—no one gets off easily, and no triumph is without cost." - Kerri Maher

"Sisters of the Resistance had me enthralled from the first page right up until its breathtaking conclusion. An enthralling tale of courage, resistance and love – Christine Wells has penned one of the sure-fire hits of 2021." - Kelly Rimmer

"Sisters of the Resistance has it all! A richly researched historical novel filled with the glamor of the 1940s fashion world, page-turning suspense and romance, all wrapped around a cast of courageous and unforgettable women... I was under the spell of this novel from page one!" - Renée Rosen

"Christine Wells' Sisters of the Resistance shifts effortlessly between the desperation of the final months of World War II to the glamour of Dior's post-war collection in this page-turner. Based on Catherine Dior's real-life resistance movement, this is a powerful story of the impact women have had on history." - Stephanie Marie Thornton

"A beautiful homage to the strength and resilience of women spies during the Second World War, Christine Wells’ Sisters of the Resistance is that rare jewel of a WWII novel that surprises as much as it delights." - Bryn Turnbull


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Christine Wells's Sisters of the Resistance

Paperback Editions

June 2021 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Sisters of the Resistance: A Novel of Catherine Dior's Paris Spy Network
Author(s): Christine Wells
ISBN: 0-06-305544-9 / 978-0-06-305544-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


June 2021 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Sisters of the Resistance: A Novel of Catherine Dior's Paris Spy Network
Author(s): Christine Wells
ISBN: 0-06-314065-9 / 978-0-06-314065-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow & Company
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


June 2021 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Sisters of the Resistance: A Novel of Catherine Dior's Paris Spy Network
Author(s): Christine Wells
ISBN: 0-06-309191-7 / 978-0-06-309191-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

June 2021 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Sisters of the Resistance: A Novel of Catherine Dior's Paris Spy Network
Author(s): Christine Wells
ISBN: 1-66510-299-3 / 978-1-66510-299-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins B and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   


June 2021 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Sisters of the Resistance: A Novel of Catherine Dior's Paris Spy Network
Author(s): Christine Wells
ISBN: 1-66510-298-5 / 978-1-66510-298-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins B and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Sisters of the Resistance: A Novel of Catherine Dior's Paris Spy Network
Author(s): Christine Wells
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


June 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Sisters of the Resistance: A Novel of Catherine Dior's Paris Spy Network
Author(s): Christine Wells
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Sisters of the Resistance: A Novel of Catherine Dior's Paris Spy Network
Author(s): Christine Wells
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

June 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Sisters of the Resistance: A Novel of Catherine Dior's Paris Spy Network
Author(s): Christine Wells
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU