Kerri Maher's picture
26 followers

Kerri Maher


USA flag

Kerri Maher is also the author of This Is Not A Writing Manual: Notes for the Young Writer in the Real World under the name Kerri Majors. She holds an MFA from Columbia University and founded YARN, an award-winning literary journal of short-form YA writing. For many years a professor of writing, she now writes full time and lives with her daughter in Massachusetts where apple picking and long walks in the woods are especially fine.
 

Genres: Historical
 

Kerri Maher recommends
thumb
The Chelsea Girls (2019)
Fiona Davis
"The Chelsea Girls is the thoroughly engrossing story of an authentic and complex female friendship under the intense pressures of the Cold War. Replete with international secrets and theatrical triumphs, it sings with the nuances, trials, and celebrations of real friendship in the darkest of times. A must-read for you and your best friends!"
thumb
The Other Windsor Girl (2019)
Georgie Blalock
"The Other Windsor Girl is royally romantic, glamorous, and sexy... A must-read for royal-watchers and fans of The Crown."
thumb
Red Letter Days (2020)
Sarah Jane Stratford
"Red Letter Days is a blacklist-era game of cat and mouse that’s positively Shakespearean in its witty dialogue, forged identities, banishments, unexpected romance, and even its drama within the drama. The final lightning-speed pages left me breathless."
thumb
And They Called It Camelot (2020)
Stephanie Marie Thornton
"This book grabbed me from page one and wouldn't let me go. A multi-dimensional imagining of the trials and triumphs of Jaqueline Bouvier Kennedy, And They Called It Camelot will make you rethink everything you thought you knew about this remarkable First Lady. Full of glamour, scandal, and heartache, this is a novel you will want to discuss with all of your friends."
thumb
Fast Girls (2020)
Elise Hooper
"Fast Girls will hurl you down the track of American history and have you rooting for some of the toughest underdogs ever to aspire to Olympic gold...I couldn’t put this one down."
thumb
Courage, My Love (2021)
Kristin Beck
"Fans of Elena Ferrante and Kristin Hannah will relish this gritty tale of perseverance and resistance set in the Eternal City during World War II. I learned a great deal about the Italian front and the tangled web of friendship and romance kept me turning pages well into the night. A bold and gripping debut."
thumb
The Social Graces (2021)
Renée Rosen
"By turns tender and devastating, this beautifully written novel kept me in thrall to the end."
thumb
Sisters of the Resistance (2021)
Christine Wells
"Brimming with danger, adventure, and Dior, Sisters of the Resistance kept me guessing to the end. This story of two sisters working for the French resistance beautifully explores the vast gray area between right and wrong, love and hate—no one gets off easily, and no triumph is without cost."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors