Patricia Wrightson's picture

Patricia Wrightson

Australia (1921 - 2010)

Patricia Wrightson is one of Australia's most distinguished writers for children. Her books have won many prestigious awards all over the world. She was awarded an OBE (Officer of the British Empire) in 1977, the Dromkeen Medal in 1984 and the Hans Christian Andersen Medal in 1986, all for her services to children's literature. She is a four-time winner of the Australian Children's Book Council Book of the Year Award: in 1956 for The Crooked Snake, in 1974 for The Nargun and the Stars, in 1978 for The Ice Is Coming and in 1984 for A Little Fear.Patricia lives and writes in a beautiful stretch of the Australian bush beside the Clarence River in northern New South Wales.

Genres: Young Adult Fantasy
Anthologies edited
World Fantasy Best Novel nominee (1980) : The Dark Bright Water