New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
R M Ballantyne's picture

R M Ballantyne

(Robert Michael Ballantyne)
Scotland (1825 - 1894)

Born Robert Michael Ballantyne in Edinburgh, he was part of a famous family of printers and publishers. At the age of 16 he went to Canada and was six years in the service of the Hudson's Bay Company. He returned to Scotland in 1847, and published his first book the following year, Hudson's Bay: or, Life in the Wilds of North America. For some time he was employed by Messrs Constable, the publishers, but in 1856 he gave up business for the profession of literature, and began the series of adventure stories for the young with which his name is popularly associated.
The Young Fur Traders (1856)
The Coral Island (1857)
Martin Rattler (1858)
The Robber Kitten (1858)
Ungava (1858)
The Dog Crusoe (1860)
The World of Ice (1860)
The Golden Dream (1861)
The Gorilla Hunters (1861)
The Red Eric (1861)
Away in the Wilderness (1863)
Fighting The Whales (1863)
The Wild Man of the West (1863)
Chasing the Sun (1864)
Freaks On The Fells (1864)
Gascoyne, the Sandal-Wood Trader (1864)
The Lifeboat (1864)
The Lighthouse (1865)
Shifting Winds (1866)
Fighting The Flames (1867)
Silver Lake (1867)
Deep Down (1868)
The Battle and the Breeze (1869)
The Cannibal Islands (1869)
Digging For Gold (1869)
Erling The Bold (1869)
Hunting The Lions (1869)
Lost In The Forest (1869)
Over the Rocky Mountains (1869)
Saved By The Lifeboat (1869)
Sunk At Sea (1869)
Up in the Clouds (1869)
The Floating Light of the Goodwin Sands (1870)
The Iron Horse (1871)
The Norsemen in the West (1872)
The Pioneers (1872)
Black Ivory (1873)
The Pirate City (1874)
Rivers Of Ice (1875)
The Settler and the Savage (1877)
In The Track Of The Troops (1878)
Jarwin and Cuffy (1878)
Six Months At The Cape (1879)
The Lonely Island (1880)
Philosopher Jack (1880)
Post Haste (1880)
My Doggie and I (1881)
The Giant of the North (1882)
The Battery and the Boiler (1883)
Battles With The Sea (1883)
The Madman and the Pirate (1883)
The Thorogood Family (1883)
Dusty Diamonds Cut and Polished (1884)
The Young Trawler (1884)
The Island Queen (1885)
Twice Bought (1885)
The Lively Poll (1886)
The Prairie Chief (1886)
Red Rooney (1886)
The Big Otter (1887)
The Fugitives (1887)
Blue Lights (1888)
The Middy and the Moors (1888)
Blown to Bits (1889)
The Crew of the Water Wagtail (1889)
The Eagle Cliff (1889)
Charlie To The Rescue (1890)
The Garret and the Garden (1890)
The Buffalo Runners (1891)
A Coxswain's Bride (1891)
The Hot Swamp (1892)
Hunted and Harried (1892)
Personal Reminiscences In Book Making (1893)
The Walrus Hunters (1893)
Wrecked But Not Ruined (1895)
Hudson Bay (1912)
Fort Desolation (2004)
Jeff Benson (2004)
Why I Did Not Go To Sea (2004)


Search for