M T Anderson's picture

M T Anderson

USA flag (b.1968)

MT Anderson is an accomplished writer who has written a wide variety of titles, including works of fantasy and satire for a range of ages. Anderson grew up outside of Boston, Massachusetts. He was educated in English literature at Harvard University and Cambridge University, and went on to receive his MFA in Creative Writing from Syracuse University.

Before becoming a writer, Anderson held several other jobs, some of which he has used as inspiration for his writing. He worked as a burger flipper, a department store cashier and a radio DJ. His previous novels have included Thirsty, a vampire novel, Burger Wuss, a fast food revenge book and Feed, a futuristic satirical novel. Feed was a finalist for the National Book Award and won the L.A. Times Book Award for YA fiction in 2003. It was additionally a finalist for the Boston Globe/Horn Book Award. Anderson has also written a number of childrens picture books.

In The Game of Sunken Places, Brian and Gregory stay at a distant relative's home and stumble upon an old board game called The Game of Sunken Places, that mirrors a greater game in which they have suddenly become players.  In the second book, The Suburb Beyond the Stars, Brian and Gregory continue to have strange experiences....people aren't where they're supposed to be, and houses are everywhere and seem to be taking over the world.  The third and final book, The Empire of Gut and Bone, is published June 2011.  These imaginative, fast-paced fantasies are thrill rides that are part quest, part mystery, part fantasy, and part Abbott and Costello. 

MT Anderson currently lives in Boston, Massachusetts.

Genres: Children's Fiction, Young Adult Fantasy, Young Adult Fiction
New and upcoming books
July 2024

   Thirsty (1997)
   Burger Wuss (1999)
   Feed (2002)
   Landscape with Invisible Hand (2017)
   Fatal Throne (2018) (with others)
   The Assassination of Brangwain Spurge (2018) (with Eugene Yelchin)
   The Daughters of Ys (2020)
   Elf Dog and Owl Head (2023)
   Nicked (2024)
   Three Teen-Ages (2003) (with Carolyn Mackler and Donna Jo Napoli)
   No Such Thing as the Real World (2009) (with others)
Novellas and Short Stories
Series contributed to
   4. Apex Predator (2018)
Picture Books show
Graphic Novels show
Non fiction show
Anthologies containing stories by M T Anderson
The Collectors (2023)
edited by
A S King
Monstrous Affections (2014)
An Anthology of Beastly Tales
edited by
Gavin J Grant and Kelly Link

More anthologies 

Michael L. Printz Award Best Book nominee (2007) : The Pox Party
Michael L. Printz Award Best Book nominee (2009) : The Kingdom on the Waves

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors