Tahmima Anam's picture

Tahmima Anam


Tahmima Anam was born in Dhaka, Bangladesh, in 1975. She attended Mount Holyoke College, and received a PhD in social anthropology from Harvard University. The Good Muslim is the second novel, following A Golden Age, in her Bengal Trilogy. She lives in London.

Genres: Literary Fiction
Bangla Desh
   1. A Golden Age (2007)
   2. The Good Muslim (2011)
   3. The Bones of Grace (2016)
   The Startup Wife (2021)
Non fiction show
Tahmima Anam recommends
Tell Me an Ending (2022)
Jo Harkin
"A cautionary tale about technology making its way into the very depths of our personal lives, Tell Me an Ending is thought-provoking and utterly compulsive."
Love Marriage (2022)
Monica Ali
"No one captures the modern family like Monica Ali - Love Marriage is a masterful cacophony of characters, all drawn with deep empathy and sharp insight. The novel is full of surprises and unexpected twists, with an ending that will take your breath away."
Sharks in the Time of Saviours (2020)
Kawai Strong Washburn
"Sharks in the Time of Saviours is a story of trauma passed down through the generations, of how poverty, grief, and broken dreams weave their way through the lives of one family. Yet it is a story told with joy, even humour, in lyrical, hypnotic prose that will stay with you long after you turn the last page."

Anthologies containing stories by Tahmima Anam
Tales of Two Planets (2020)
Stories of Climate Change and Inequality in a Divided World
edited by
John Freeman
The Best American Short Stories 2016 (2016)
(Best American Short Stories)
edited by
Junot Díaz

Costa Book Awards Best First Novel nominee (2007) : A Golden Age

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors