New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Elizabeth Braddon's picture

Elizabeth Braddon

(Mary Elizabeth Braddon)
UK flag (1835 - 1915)

Mary Elizabeth Braddon was a British Victorian era popular novelist. She was an extremely prolific writer, producing some 75 novels with very inventive plots. The most famous one is her first novel, Lady Audley's Secret (1862), which won her recognition and fortune as well. The novel has been in print ever since, and has been dramatised and filmed several times.
Braddon also founded Belgravia Magazine (1866), which presented readers with serialized sensation novels, poems, travel narratives, and biographies, as well as essays on fashion, history, science. She also edited Temple Bar Magazine. Braddon's legacy is tied to the Sensation Fiction of the 1860s.
The Octoroon (1859)
Three Times Dead (1860)
     aka TheTrail of the Serpent
Lady Audley's Secret (1862)
Lady Lisle (1862)
Aurora Floyd (1863)
Captain of the Vulture (1863)
Eleanor's Victory (1863)
The Doctor's Wife (1864)
Henry Dunbar (1864)
John Marchmont's Legacy (1864)
Only a Clod (1865)
Sir Jasper's Tenant (1866)
Birds of Prey (1867)
Circe (1867)
     aka Babington White
The Lady's Mile (1867)
Rupert Godwin (1867)
Charlotte's Inheritance (1868)
Dead Sea Fruit (1868)
Run to Earth (1868)
Fenton's Quest (1871)
The Lovels of Arden (1871)
Robert Ainsleigh (1872)
To the Bitter End (1872)
Lucius Davoren (1873)
Strangers and Pilgrims (1873)
Lost for Love (1874)
Taken at the Flood (1874)
Hostages to Fortune (1875)
A Strange World (1875)
Dead Men's Shoes (1876)
Joshua Haggard's Daughter (1876)
An Open Verdict (1878)
The Cloven Foot (1879)
Vixen (1879)
Just as I am (1880)
The Story of Barbara (1880)
Asphodel (1881)
Meeting Her Fate (1881)
Flower and Weed (1882)
Mount Royal (1882)
The Golden Calf (1883)
Phantom Fortune (1883)
Under the Red Flag (1883)
Ishmael (1884)
Wyllard's Weird (1885)
Cut by the County (1886)
The Good Hermione (1886)
     aka Aunt Belinda
Mohawks (1886)
One Thing Needful (1886)
Like and Unlike (1887)
The Fatal Three (1888)
The Day Will Come (1889)
One Life, One Love (1890)
Gerard (1891)
     aka The World, the Flesh and the Devil
The Venetians (1892)
All Along the River (1893)
The Christmas Hirelings (1894)
Thou Art the Man (1894)
Sons of Fire (1895)
London Pride (1896)
Under Love's Rule (1897)
In High Places (1898)
Rough Justice (1898)
His Darling Sin (1899)
The Infidel (1900)
The Conflict (1903)
A Lost Eden (1904)
The Rose of Life (1905)
The White House (1906)
Dead Love Has Chains (1907)
Her Convict (1907)
During Her Majesty's Pleasure (1908)
Our Adversary (1909)
Beyond These Voices (1910)
The Green Curtain (1911)
Miranda (1913)
Mary (1916)
The Black Band (1998)
The White Phantom (2002)




Anthologies containing stories by Elizabeth Braddon
Short stories
The Mystery at Fernwood
The Cold Embrace (1860)
Eveline's Visitant (1862)
John Granger (1870)

Books about Elizabeth Braddon
Sensational Victorian (1979) by Robert Lee Wolff
Beyond Sensation (1999) by Marlene Tromp
The Literary Lives of Mary Elizabeth Braddon (2000) by Jennifer Carnell

Search for