Terri Windling's picture

Terri Windling

USA flag (b.1958)

Terri Windling is a writer, editor, artist, and passionate advocate of fantasy literature. She has won six World Fantasy awards for her editorial work and the Mythopoeic Award for her novel The Wood Wife. She has edited over thirty anthologies, many in collaboration with Ellen Datlow--including the Snow White, Blood Red adult fairy-tale series, The Armless Maiden, Sirens, The Green Man, and Swan Sister. She has also written children's books and articles on myth and folklore, and she edits the Endicott Studio Online Journal of Mythic Arts website. She divides her time between homes in Devon, England, and Tucson, Arizona.

Genres: Horror, GameLit, Fantasy, Children's Fiction, Young Adult Fantasy
Series contributed to
   Borderland (1986) (with Mark Alan Arnold)
   Bordertown (1986) (with Mark Alan Arnold)
   Life on the Border (1991)
   The Essential Bordertown (1998) (with Delia Sherman)
Anthology series
Elsewhere (with Mark Alan Arnold)
   1. Elsewhere (1981)
   2. Elsewhere Two (1982)
   3. Elsewhere Three (1983)
Anthologies edited
Anthologies containing stories by Terri Windling
Short stories
Weaver's Cottage (1994)
Brother and Sister (1995)
Donkeyskin (1995)
The Green Children (1995)
The Night Journey (1995)
And Life's Other Little Annoyances (1998)
Famous Last Words (1998)
From the World to the Border (1998)
Get Real (1998)
How the Other Half Lives (1998)
A Human Guide to Elvin Etiquette (1998) (with Mimi Panitch)
The Path from the True And Only Realm to the False Lands And the City of Illusion (translation for Humans: How to Get from Elfland to Bordertown) (1998)
The Peculiar Joy of Cooking On the Border (1998) (with Teresa Nielsen Hayden)
So You Need a Place to Stay (1998)
A Tasteful Guide to Border Cuisine (1998) (with Teresa Nielsen Hayden)
A Trueblood Guide to Human Peccadillos (1998)
What's Up And What Ain't (1998) (with Teresa Nielsen Hayden)
Where to Find It (1998)

British Fantasy Society Best Novel nominee (1997) : The Wood Wife
Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature Best Book winner (1997) : The Wood Wife

Terri Windling recommends
From the Files of the Time Rangers (2005)
Richard Bowes
"Richard Bowes - along with Charles de Lint and Emma Bull and Francesca Lia Block - has been one of the pioneers in the field of 'urban fantasy' exploring mythic stories set in contemporary urban settings."
The Habitation of the Blessed (2010)
(Prester John, book 1)
Catherynne M Valente
"Valente is one of the most intriguing young writers working in the mythic fiction field today. Her work is lyrical, unusual, ambitious..."
The Emerald Circus (2017)
Jane Yolen
"In this masterful collection, Jane Yolen draws upon myth, fairy tales, history, poetry, and children's classics from Alice to Oz to fashion new tales from the bones of the old. There is simply no better storyteller working in the fantasy field today. She's a national treasure."
The Book of Hidden Things (2018)
Francesco Dimitri
"Francesco Dimitri's first novel in English is a wonder and a revelation. Hidden within this gripping, frightening story about an arcane manuscript is a deep, clear-eyed, and compassionate meditation on friendship as it evolves over time. The Book of Hidden Things is fantasy at it's best: using magical tropes to illuminate real life."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors