New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous book

Fateful Mornings

(2017)
(The second book in the Henry Farrell series)
A novel by

 

"Tom Bouman is my new favorite mystery writer."
Nickolas Butler


"You would be hard-pressed to find a finer new series than Tom Bouman’s Henry Farrell novels because of the complexity of the plots or the richness of the characters, but what it really comes down to is just damn good writing."
Craig Johnson


"My father always said that you can judge people by the way they keep their tools: clean and sharp or soiled and soft. Tom Bouman's tools -- the words he uses to make Fateful Mornings -- cut straight and true, in this riveting mystery about a good man caught in the ruined Eden of rural America."
Julia Keller


"Fateful Mornings is that long-sought-after gem, the place where the literary meets the crime novel in beautiful symmetry. Henry Farrell is an existential everyman, as clueless as the rest of us about life’s meaning, and his so very human stumbling in search of the elusive truths is one of the many beauties of this fine novel."
William Kent Krueger


"A terrific writer. Definitely one to keep an eye on."
Dennis Lehane


"More than a mystery, Fateful Mornings is a portrait of the rusted pocket of Northeastern Pennsylvania that Henry Farrell calls home. Bouman's tender portrait of a widower remaking his life infuses his crime fiction with a level of intimacy that is both rare and winning. I was happy to ride shotgun with Henry Farrell again."
Attica Locke


"Fateful Mornings is a haunting dissection of the broken heart of America."
Val McDermid


In Wild Thyme, Pennsylvania, Officer Henry Farrell's life is getting complicated. Widowed and more traumatised than he cares to admit, he is caught up in an affair with a local woman, and with helping out his friend's barn construction job - on which the clock is ticking. When a troubled old acquaintance of theirs becomes the prime suspect in the disappearance of his girlfriend, it becomes increasingly clear that something seriously dark is at large in the woods that surround them.

Against this old and strange landscape - where silence rules - a fascinating and troubling case ensues, as Henry struggles for his very survival.

For fans of James Lee Burke and Cormac McCarthy, Tom Bouman is the new must-read author exploring the outer darkness of contemporary America.

Genre: Mystery
 
Similar Books by other authors...


Bull Mountain
Brian Panowich

IQ
(IQ, book 1)

Joe Ide

Darktown
Thomas Mullen

Rather Be the Devil
(John Rebus, book 21)

Ian Rankin
 
Used availability for Tom Bouman's Fateful Mornings


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

June 2017 : USA Hardback
thumbTitle: Fateful Mornings: A Henry Farrell Novel (The Henry Farrell Series)
Author(s): Tom Bouman
ISBN: 0-393-24964-6 / 978-0-393-24964-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

July 2017 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: Fateful Mornings
Author(s): Tom Bouman
ISBN: 0-571-33336-2 / 978-0-571-33336-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   

Audio Editions

June 2017 : USA Audio CD
Title: Fateful Mornings: A Henry Farrell Novel
Author(s): Tom Bouman
ISBN: 1-68168-611-2 / 978-1-68168-611-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: HighBridge Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

July 2017 : UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: Fateful Mornings
Author(s): Tom Bouman
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   

June 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumbTitle: Fateful Mornings: A Henry Farrell Novel (The Henry Farrell Series)
Author(s): Tom Bouman
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


Search for