New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Fateful Mornings

Fateful Mornings

(2017)
(The second book in the Henry Farrell series)
A novel by

 
 
'Fateful Mornings is a haunting dissection of the broken heart of America.' Val McDermid

For fans of James Lee Burke and Cormac McCarthy, Tom Bouman is the new must-read author exploring the outer darkness of contemporary America.

In Wild Thyme, Pennsylvania, Officer Henry Farrell's life is getting complicated. Widowed and more traumatised than he cares to admit, he is caught up in an affair with a local woman, and with helping out his friend's barn construction job - on which the clock is ticking. When a troubled old acquaintance of theirs becomes the prime suspect in the disappearance of his girlfriend, it becomes increasingly clear that something seriously dark is at large in the woods that surround them.

Against this old and strange landscape - where silence rules - a fascinating and troubling case ensues, as Henry struggles for his very survival.

Genre: Mystery    

"Tom Bouman is my new favorite mystery writer." - Nickolas Butler

"You would be hard-pressed to find a finer new series than Tom Bouman’s Henry Farrell novels because of the complexity of the plots or the richness of the characters, but what it really comes down to is just damn good writing." - Craig Johnson

"My father always said that you can judge people by the way they keep their tools: clean and sharp or soiled and soft. Tom Bouman's tools -- the words he uses to make Fateful Mornings -- cut straight and true, in this riveting mystery about a good man caught in the ruined Eden of rural America." - Julia Keller

"Fateful Mornings is that long-sought-after gem, the place where the literary meets the crime novel in beautiful symmetry. Henry Farrell is an existential everyman, as clueless as the rest of us about life’s meaning, and his so very human stumbling in search of the elusive truths is one of the many beauties of this fine novel." - William Kent Krueger

"A terrific writer. Definitely one to keep an eye on." - Dennis Lehane

"More than a mystery, Fateful Mornings is a portrait of the rusted pocket of Northeastern Pennsylvania that Henry Farrell calls home. Bouman's tender portrait of a widower remaking his life infuses his crime fiction with a level of intimacy that is both rare and winning. I was happy to ride shotgun with Henry Farrell again." - Attica Locke

"Fateful Mornings is a haunting dissection of the broken heart of America." - Val McDermid


Similar Books by other authors...

thumb
The Late Show
(Renee Ballard, book 1)
Michael Connelly

Used availability for Tom Bouman's Fateful Mornings

Hardback Editions

June 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Fateful Mornings: A Henry Farrell Novel (The Henry Farrell Series)
Author(s): Tom Bouman
ISBN: 0-393-24964-6 / 978-0-393-24964-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

August 2018 : UK Paperback

Title: Fateful Mornings
Author(s): Tom Bouman
ISBN: 0-571-32777-X / 978-0-571-32777-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   


July 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Fateful Mornings: A Henry Farrell Novel
Author(s): Tom Bouman
ISBN: 0-393-35590-X / 978-0-393-35590-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Fateful Mornings
Author(s): Tom Bouman
ISBN: 0-571-33336-2 / 978-0-571-33336-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

June 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Fateful Mornings: A Henry Farrell Novel
Author(s): Tom Bouman
ISBN: 1-68168-611-2 / 978-1-68168-611-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: HighBridge Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

July 2017 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Fateful Mornings
Author(s): Tom Bouman
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   


June 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Fateful Mornings: A Henry Farrell Novel (The Henry Farrell Series)
Author(s): Tom Bouman
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA