book cover of The Girl from Paris
Added by 7 members
 

The Girl from Paris

(2021)
(The third book in the Daughters of New York series)
A novel by

 
 
Vianne rushes through the crowded streets of Paris as the German bombs begin to fall. As she rounds the corner she sees the familiar spires of the old church burst into flames. Too late, she realizes that her mother and sister are trapped inside…

Paris, 1918. The end of war is in sight, and young seamstress Vianne Mercier is longing for the day when she can stop sewing military uniforms and start creating the beautiful dresses that she has been dreaming up in her head.

But just when it seems like peace is within reach, Vianne’s mother and sister are killed in a terrible air raid. To make matters worse, Vianne’s brother has returned home a changed man. Controlling and cruel, he presents Vianne with an ultimatum; give up her dreams of becoming a designer, or be forced onto the streets, penniless and alone.

With nothing left for her in Paris but sad memories, she decides to sail for New York. Determined not to look back, she throws herself into her new life—spending her days sewing dresses for wealthy Upper East Side women, and her evenings dancing the Charleston to Duke Ellington in the new downtown clubs. When Vianne meets handsome Italian Giorgio Conti, he encourages her career, and she feels safe for the first time since she lost her family.

Then news of a terrible accident compels Vianne to suddenly return to France, where she discovers proof of a wartime secret that changes everything she thought she knew about her family. Facing the threat of sickness and ruin, the people who forced Vianne out of her home now suddenly need her help.

Will Vianne find the courage to follow her heart, return to New York and her life with Giorgio? Or will duty bind her to the family she had left behind and force her to remain in France?

From Amazon Charts bestseller Ella Carey comes an utterly gripping and emotional historical wartime novel about the terrible choices people made during humanity’s darkest days. Fans of Fiona Valpy, Rhys Bowen and The Nightingale will adore this novel.

What readers are saying about The Girl from Paris:

This phenomenal story will touch your heart in so many ways… an amazing escape that you are sure to cherish long after you finish readingI absolutely loved this amazing story.” Page Turners, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“WonderfulIt gripped me from the first page until the last. The characters are so amazing and relatable… This story kept me glued all the way throughPhenomenalOutstanding.” @rubie_reads,

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“A sweeping romantic epic that will hold readers spellbounda wonderfully evocative and immensely poignant tale that draws readers in from the first page and keeps them completely and utterly mesmerized.” Bookish Jottings

“A page-turnerfantastic twists and a great deal of romance and drama alongside the backdrop and aftermath of the war in both Paris and America. These twists definitely kept me hooked… an emotional and gripping historical drama.” @iheartbooks1991, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Emotional… If you enjoy historical fiction, you will love this. The perfect book to curl up on the sofa with.” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“A fantastic look at New York City during the 1920s… This book is more than just historical fiction - it's a close look at a strong woman who is pursuing her dream as she deals with family, friends, and love.” Girl Who Reads


Genre: Historical

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Ella Carey's The Girl from Paris


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors