Jessamine Chan's picture
5 followers

Jessamine Chan


USA flag

Jessamine Chan’s short stories have appeared in Tin House and Epoch. A former reviews editor at Publishers Weekly, she holds an MFA from Columbia University and a BA from Brown University. Her work has received support from the Elizabeth George Foundation, the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, the Wurlitzer Foundation, 
Jentel, the Kimmel Harding Nelson Center, the Anderson Center, VCCA, and Ragdale.
 She lives in Chicago with her husband and daughter.

 

Genres: Literary Fiction
 
Jessamine Chan recommends
thumb
Tell Me an Ending (2022)
Jo Harkin
"Suspenseful, richly imagined, and brimming with compassion, Jo Harkin's Tell Me an Ending poses tantalizing questions about technology, ethics, capitalism, memory, trauma, and fate. How far would we go to live a happier life? Who are we without the memories that have shaped us? A feat of ingenious, intricate world-building. I finished the last page desperate to discuss this brilliant novel with everyone I know."
thumb
Post-Traumatic (2022)
Chantal V Johnson
"With searing intelligence, wicked humor, and an utterly captivating heroine, this brilliant debut shows us what it means to live with, and beyond, trauma. I felt such kinship with Vivian that I sometimes felt like Johnson was reading my mind."
thumb
Little Rabbit (2022)
Alyssa Songsiridej
"Little Rabbit is a glorious debut-riveting, soulful, cerebral, and the sexiest novel I've ever read. In this story about ambition, power, art-making, and the pursuit of beauty, perfect for fans of Luster and Bad Behavior, Alyssa Songsiridej thrillingly interrogates the conflict between reason and desire, between our public and private selves. My life is richer for having read this book. Yours will be too."
thumb
Fruiting Bodies (2022)
Kathryn Harlan
"A debut of astonishing range and beauty, nimble and magical and profound. In stunning prose, Kathryn Harlan's wildly imaginative and daring stories reveal the anguish of growing up in a dying world. Her characters' quest for knowledge-about themselves, their families, their bodies, and their yearnings-will thrill and haunt you."
thumb
More Than You'll Ever Know (2022)
Katie Gutierrez
"What happens when a mother wants more? A seductive, urgent tale about desire, family, the pursuit of truth, and the art of storytelling, More Than You'll Ever Know will astonish readers with its vastness, romance, tragedy, and abundant heart. I became obsessed with Katie Gutierrez's restless, secret-keeping heroines and didn't want this book to ever end."
thumb
The Women Could Fly (2022)
Megan Giddings
"Profound, daring, wondrous, and utterly original. A feminist dystopian epic about a world where women's life choices are policed and female power and autonomy are the most dangerous forces of all, Megan Giddings' The Women Could Fly offers a hypnotic blend of enchantment and outrage. I could not love this novel more."
thumb
Our Share of Night (2022)
Mariana Enríquez
"A singular, soul-rattling novel with urgent moral questions about greed, injustice, and inheritance at its core . . . I've never read anything like it, and I'll never forget my time in Enriquez's mesmerizing world."

Visitors also looked at these authors


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors