book cover of The Last Romantics
Added by 3 of our members

The Last Romantics

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
From the New York Times best-selling author of The House Girl comes a novel about our most precious and dangerous attachment: family.

In the spring of 1981, the young Skinner siblings - fierce Renee, dreamy Caroline, golden-boy Joe, and watchful Fiona - lose their father to a heart attack and their mother to a paralyzing depression, events that thrust them into a period they will later call "the Pause". Caught between the predictable life they once led and an uncertain future that stretches before them, the siblings navigate the dangers and resentments of the Pause to emerge fiercely loyal and deeply connected.

Two decades later, the Skinners find themselves again confronted with a family crisis that tests the strength of these bonds and forces them to question the life choices they've made and what, exactly, they will do for love.

Narrated nearly a century later by the youngest sibling, the renowned poet Fiona Skinner, The Last Romantics spans a lifetime. It's a story of sex and affection, sacrifice and selfishness, deeply held principles and dashed expectations, a lost engagement ring, a squandered baseball scholarship, unsupervised summers at the neighborhood pond, and an iconic book of love poems. But most of all, it is the story of Renee, Caroline, Joe, and Fiona: the ways they support each other, the ways they betray each other, and the ways they knit back together bonds they have fractured.

In the vein of Commonwealth, Little Fires Everywhere, and The Nest, this is a panoramic, tenderly insightful novel about one devoted, imperfect family. The Last Romantics is an unforgettable exploration of the responsibilities we bear both gracefully and unwillingly and the all-important, ever-complex definition of love.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Praise for this book

"All of the luxuriously spun characters in The Last Romantics, entwined via that impossible web we call family, unfold over their many years with the perfect balance of familiarity and wonder that makes turning their pages such a pleasure." - Laurie Frankel

"There’s so much love and loss in this book that I read it with a box of tissues, laughing with astonishment through the tears. The kind of book you lose yourself in." - Lisa Gabriele

"A triumph of storytelling, an ambitious examination of the failures of love and how we, against all odds, find a way to survive.... A complex, resonant work that will reshape your understanding of family." - Kevin Wilson

"Tara Conklin is a generous writer who deftly brings us into the world of this fictional family, an engrossing and vivid place where I was happy to stay. The Last Romantics is a richly observed novel, both ambitious and welcoming." - Meg Wolitzer


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Tara Conklin's The Last Romantics

Hardback Editions

February 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Last Romantics: A Novel
Author(s): Tara Conklin
ISBN: 0-06-235820-0 / 978-0-06-235820-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Last Romantics
Author(s): Tara Conklin
ISBN: 0-00-832336-4 / 978-0-00-832336-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


February 2020 : Canada Paperback

Title: The Last Romantics
Author(s): Tara Conklin
ISBN: 1-4434-3631-3 / 978-1-4434-3631-1 (Canada edition)
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Last Romantics: A Novel
Author(s): Tara Conklin
ISBN: 0-06-235821-9 / 978-0-06-235821-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


February 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Last Romantics
Author(s): Tara Conklin
ISBN: 0-06-288754-8 / 978-0-06-288754-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperLuxe
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Last Romantics
Author(s): Tara Conklin
ISBN: 0-00-832334-8 / 978-0-00-832334-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


February 2019 : Canada Paperback
thumb

Title: The Last Romantics
Author(s): Tara Conklin
ISBN: 1-4434-3630-5 / 978-1-4434-3630-4 (Canada edition)
Publisher: HarperAvenue
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

February 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Last Romantics
Author(s): Tara Conklin
ISBN: 1-982608-50-1 / 978-1-982608-50-7
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Last Romantics Lib/E
Author(s): Tara Conklin
ISBN: 1-982608-49-8 / 978-1-982608-49-1
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2019 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Last Romantics: A Novel
Author(s): Tara Conklin
ISBN: 1-982608-51-X / 978-1-982608-51-4
Publisher: HarperCollins B and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Romantics: A Novel
Author(s): Tara Conklin
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


February 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Romantics: A Novel
Author(s): Tara Conklin
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Romantics: A Novel
Author(s): Tara Conklin
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2020 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Last Romantics
Author(s): Tara Conklin
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon UK   


February 2019 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Last Romantics
Author(s): Tara Conklin
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2019 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Last Romantics
Author(s): Tara Conklin
Publisher: HarperAvenue
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2019 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Last Romantics: A Novel
Author(s): Tara Conklin
Publisher: William Morrow
Availability: Amazon