book cover of The Night Shift
Added by 84 of our members
 

The Night Shift

(2022)
A novel by

 
 
What connects a massacre at a Blockbuster video store in 1999 with the murder of four teenagers fifteen years later?

It's New Year's Eve of 1999 when four teenagers working late are attacked at a Blockbuster video store in New Jersey. Only one survives. Police quickly identify a suspect, the boyfriend of one of the victims, who flees and is never seen again.

Fifteen years later, four more teenagers are attacked at an ice cream store in the same town, and again only one makes it out alive.

In the aftermath of the latest crime, three lives intersect: the lone survivor of the Blockbuster massacre, who is forced to relive the horrors of her tragedy; the brother of the fugitive accused, who is convinced the police have the wrong suspect; and FBI agent Sarah Keller, who must delve into the secrets of both nights to uncover the truth about the Night Shift Murders...

Reviews for The Night Shift:

'A terrific thriller' Peter James

'Every line counts in this cunning cat's cradle of a thriller'
The Times

'This is crime fiction at its best'
Lee Child

'Finlay is all set to take on big boys Linwood Barclay and Harlan Coben'
The Sun

'Will grab you and not let go until the final, electrifying conclusion'
Julie Clark

'An exciting, entertaining read that I couldn't put down!'
Samantha Downing

'One not to miss. Highly recommended'
Brendan DuBois



Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Wow, this is crime fiction at it's best. Instantly immersive, pacy and propulsive, and full of surprises. Alex Finlay is the real deal, believe me." - Lee Child

"With an unforgettable cast of characters and a plot that races through twist after twist, Alex Finlay's explosive new thriller, The Night Shift, will grab you and not let go until the final, electrifying conclusion. I can't remember the last time I tore through a book so fast, or how many times I thought I knew what was going on only to be proven wrong yet again. You know you're in for a wild ride when one of the narrators ends up dead in the first chapter... Fans of Riley Sager and Grady Hendrix are going to LOVE this book" - Julie Clark

"The Night Shift weaves together two crimes, past and present, into a fast-paced, page-turning, slam-dunk of a thriller. An exciting, entertaining read that I couldn't put down!" - Samantha Downing

"In his second novel, The Night Shift, Alex Finlay takes his place in the upper ranks of thriller writers. From the very first chapter, Finlay expertly grabs the reader?s attention with a horrific mass murder at a Blockbuster store in 1999. Flash forward fifteen years later, the events of that dreadful night echo in a small New Jersey town, with lots of unanswered questions and theories of what happened. Then, a similar mass murder takes place at an ice cream shop, and the lives of several people-from investigators to survivors-interact in dramatic fashion. Filled with crisp dialogue, incredible suspense and memorable characters, The Night Shift is one not to miss. Highly recommended." - Brendan DuBois

"A terrific thriller, tautly written with compelling characters. I was totally hooked." - Peter James

"Prepare yourself for twists after exciting twist." - Karin Slaughter


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Alex Finlay's The Night Shift


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors