Julie Clark's picture
96 followers

Julie Clark


USA flag

Born and raised in Santa Monica, California, Julie Clark grew up reading books on the beach while everyone else surfed. After attending college at University of the Pacific, and a brief stint working in the athletic department at University of California, Berkeley, she returned home to Santa Monica to teach. She now lives there with her two young sons and a golden doodle with poor impulse control. The Ones We Choose is her first novel.
 

Genres: Mystery
 

Novels
   The Ones We Choose (2018)
   The Last Flight (2020)
     aka The Flight
   The Lies I Tell (2022)
thumbthumbthumb
 
Julie Clark recommends
thumb
Hidden Lies (2021)
Rachel Ryan
"You never know when the secrets of your past will rise up and find you again. Rachel Ryan shines in this creepy and chilling debut . . . You will fly through the pages of this tense and fast-paced story, and the giant twist at the end will leave your heart pounding."
thumb
Not My Boy (2021)
Kelly Simmons
"A missing child, a family with multiple secrets, and a cast of characters that are complicated and fully realized...Not My Boy lands the reader in the middle of a mystery that is propulsive and impossible to put down."
thumb
Are We There Yet? (2021)
Kathleen West
"Kathleen West’s latest novel, Are We There Yet, brilliantly portrays the angst, the pain, and the triumph of modern day parenting. But this book is about more than hyper-competitive parenting. It’s about friendships and betrayals. It’s about how we handle failure and the many ways we let those we love down, and then put the pieces back together again. Are We There Yet perfectly captures the friendships we form when our children are little, and the often painful ways they shift and change as our kids grow up and into their own identities. I fell head-first into this novel and I didn’t want to leave."
thumb
The Dead Husband (2021)
Carter Wilson
"How far would you go to protect the ones you love? Rose Yates has come home to a house and a family she'd rather forget. But what waits for her there isn't the closure she's been hoping for. Instead, her past hides in the dark corners and recesses of her mind, ready to spring out at her. Carter Wilson's writing is evocative and tense, his characters deeply flawed yet relatable. In THE DEAD HUSBAND, he weaves a story of a woman running from her past and the detective determined to uncover her secrets."
thumb
The Next Wife (2021)
Kaira Rouda
"Rouda’s talent for making readers question everything and everyone shines through on every page of her propulsive new thriller The Next Wife. Her narrators are sharp and unpredictable, each one with a tangle of secrets to unravel. The Next Wife will leave you tense and gasping, with a chilling twist you won’t see coming."
thumb
Take What You Can Carry (2021)
Gian Sardar
"With lush, vivid settings, Take What You Can Carry is a story of love and family, and of the heartbreaking power of returning home to the place that knows you best."
thumb
In My Dreams I Hold a Knife (2021)
Ashley Winstead
"Nostalgic and sinister, In My Dreams I Hold A Knife whisks the reader back to college. Glory days, unbreakable friendships, all-night parties and a belief that the best in life is ahead of you. But . . . . the unbreakable bonds may be hiding fractured secrets of a group bound not by loyalty but by fear. Twisty and compulsively readable, In My Dreams I Hold a Knife will have you turning pages late into the night, not just to figure out who murdered beloved Heather Shelby, but to see whether friendships forged under fire can ever be resurrected again."
thumb
The Other Me (2021)
Sarah Zachrich Jeng
"Mind bending and emotional...a taut psychological thriller with a twisted question at its core: Would you be willing to lose a life you love in order to gain something you thought was lost forever?"
thumb
Reckless Girls (2022)
Rachel Hawkins
"Sharp and taut with a slow burning tension that builds into an inferno, Reckless Girls takes the reader to remote Meroe Island. Beautiful, desolate, and sinister, six friends must grapple with secrets uncovered, guilt and grief, and a desperate fight to survive. Reckless Girls is a thriller worth staying up all night to finish."
thumb
The Night Shift (2022)
Alex Finlay
"With an unforgettable cast of characters and a plot that races through twist after twist, Alex Finlay's explosive new thriller, The Night Shift, will grab you and not let go until the final, electrifying conclusion. I can't remember the last time I tore through a book so fast, or how many times I thought I knew what was going on only to be proven wrong yet again. You know you're in for a wild ride when one of the narrators ends up dead in the first chapter... Fans of Riley Sager and Grady Hendrix are going to LOVE this book"
thumb
First Born (2022)
Will Dean
"Equal parts murder mystery and psychological thriller, Will Dean dazzles with FIRST BORN. A tense, taut plot that blows through unexpected twists and turns, you won't be able to look away until the final, shattering page."
thumb
And There He Kept Her (2022)
Joshua Moehling
"Fans of Sue Grafton are going to love And There He Kept Her. Compulsively readable, Josh Moehling has crafted a dark and complex mystery that will consume you, starring a protagonist who is equal parts quirky Milhone and steady Gamache. In the wake of a tragic loss, sheriff's deputy Ben Packard has returned to Sandy Lake, hoping to start over with a blank slate. What he finds is a town populated with eccentric characters and its own dark secrets, proving that small town life can still add up to big trouble."
thumb
Can't Look Away (2022)
Carola Lovering
"Get ready for rock and roll, heady nights, and the sting of unrequited love that marinates into a dangerous obsession. Can't Look Away is part love story, part domestic suspense, and Lovering weaves her characters tighter and tighter until the tension is ready to snap. You won't want to put this one down!"

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors