book cover of Tin Men
Added by 10 of our members

Tin Men

(2015)
A novel by

 
 
Tin Men by Christopher Golden - author of Snowblind - is a must-read for fans of Dean Koontz, Peter Straub and Joe Hill thanks to its high concept and jaw-dropping thrills.

Economies are collapsing, environmental disasters are widespread and war the backdrop to life.

And so the military has developed a force of elite soldiers to keep the peace. A force like nothing seen before ... codenamed Tin Man, soldiers are virtually transported to inhabit robot frames in war-torn countries.

When PFC Danny Kelso starts his day shift in Syria, an eerie silence welcomes him and a patrol confirms the area is totally deserted. But when a rogue electromagnetic pulse throws everything into darkness, Danny's conscious mind is trapped within his robot body.

The attack turns out to have been global - the world is facing a return to the dark ages with no electricity, no technology ... no safe zones. And the Tin Men face a race against time to save not only themselves but society as we know it.

Genre: Thriller

Praise for this book

"This evocative tale of the possible and the probable takes a wild walk on the perilous side. Along the way, we get a top-of-the-line lesson in what may actually be in store for us one day. You’re going to love this thrilling, taut drama." - Steve Berry

"A chilling tale of a world that could be, Tin Men is a vicious beast—Starship Troopers meets Generation Kill—that left my nerves fried and my brain craving another fix." - Pierce Brown

"Tin Men is a sobering, frightening glimpse into the future of our own runaway technology, plausible, riveting, and highly recommended!" - Jonathan Maberry

"Christopher Golden’s Tin Men is a phenomenal future-tech military thrill ride that checks all the blocks: American Sniper meets Avatar." - Weston Ochse

"When the human soul thrums inside machines of war, the ultimate weapon is born. Golden crafts a unique combination of Terminator and Saving Private Ryan." - Scott Sigler

"Tin Men is the literary equivalent of a muscle car: stylish and fast-paced, with a hopped-up engine of a plot. Christopher Golden starts things off at tire-burning speed and never lets up. It’s a great ride—definitely as much fun as we can ever hope to have while the world falls to ruin around us." - Scott Smith

"Tin Men is a hard-charging near-future thriller that is both exciting and prescient. Gut-clenching tension and characters you actually care about elevate this book above others in its field. Golden doesn’t mess around, and proves his own name true: His stories are as precious as gold." - Chuck Wendig

"As military robots proliferate, we have all wondered whether the wealthy will use them to dominate those with fewer resources. Fascinating and thrilling, Tin Men imagines a future in which the playing field is suddenly and violently leveled. When the stakes are life or death, will the soldiers behind the robots still have what it takes to survive?" - Daniel H Wilson

"Tin Men is not just a kick-ass near-future thriller; it’s a story of the resilience of the human spirit in the midst of a barely imaginable global cataclysm. Packed with genuine suspense, it had me on the edge of my seat." - F Paul Wilson


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Blackout
(Brainstorm Trilogy, book 3)
Sean Ellis and Jeremy Robinson

Used availability for Christopher Golden's Tin Men

Hardback Editions

June 2015 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Tin Men: A Novel
Author(s): Christopher Golden
ISBN: 0-345-54885-X / 978-0-345-54885-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

February 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Tin Men
Author(s): Christopher Golden
ISBN: 1-4722-0966-4 / 978-1-4722-0966-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


June 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Tin Men
Author(s): Christopher Golden
ISBN: 1-4722-0967-2 / 978-1-4722-0967-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Tin Men: A Novel
Author(s): Christopher Golden
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


June 2015 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Tin Men: A Novel
Author(s): Christopher Golden
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

June 2015 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Tin Men
Author(s): Christopher Golden
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU