Gabriel Garcia Marquez's picture

Gabriel García Márquez

Colombia (1927 - 2014)

Gabriel García Márquez was born in 1927 in the town of Aracatca, Colombia. Latin America's preeminent man of letters, he is considered by many to be one of the greatest writers of the twentieth century. He began his writing career as a journalist and is the author of numerous works of fiction and nonfiction, including One Hundred Years of Solitude and Love in the Time of Cholera. Gabriel Márquez was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1982.

Genres: Literary Fiction
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Gabriel García Márquez
Short stories
The Handsomest Drowned Man in the World [short story] (1971)
Blacaman the Good, Vendor of Miracles (1972)
The Last Voyage of the Ghost Ship (1972)
Death Constant Beyond Love (1973)
The Sea of Lost Time (1974)
The Night of the Curlews (1978)
Someone Has Been Disarranging These Roses (1978)
The Woman Who Came at Six O'Clock (1978)
Artificial Roses (1984)
Balthazar's Marvelous Afternoon (1984)
Big Mama's Funeral (1984)
Bitterness for Three Sleepwalkers (1984)
Dialogue with the Mirror (1984)
Eva is Inside Her Cat (1984)
Monologue of Isabel Watching It Rain in Macondo (1984)
Montiel's Widow (1984)
Nabo: The Black Man Who Made the Angels Wai (1984)
One Day After Saturday (1984)
One of These Days (1984)
The Other Side of Death (1984)
There Are No Thieves in This Town (1984)
The Third Resignation (1984)
Tuesday Siesta (1984)
The Saint (1992)
The Ghosts of August (1993)
Caribe Magico (1996)

Nobel Prize in Literature Lifetime Achievement winner (1982)
Oprah's Book Club Best Book nominee (2004) : One Hundred Years of Solitude
Oprah's Book Club Best Book nominee (2007) : Love in the Time of Cholera

Books about Gabriel García Márquez