1 follower
2 books added

Johnny Gruelle

USA flag (1880 - 1938)

Johnny Gruelle, the much-loved creator of the brother and sister rag dolls Raggedy Ann and Raggedy Andy, started his career as a newspaper cartoonist. By beating out fifteen hundred entrants in a comic-drawing contest sponsored by the New York Herald, he earned a two-thousand-dollar prize and an extended contract to provide a weekly installment of his cartoon "Mr. Twee Deedle." In addition to designing the Raggedy Ann and Andy dolls, he soon began writing and illustrating make-believe tales and adventure stories for children. His love of the unknown and his fascination with science and outer space helped inspire The Magical Land of Noom.

Genres: Children's Fiction
Raggedy Ann and Raggedy Andy
   Raggedy Ann Stories (1918)
   Raggedy Andy Stories (1920)
   Raggedy Ann and Marcella's First Day At School (1955)
   Marcella (1968)
   Raggedy Ann and Raggedy Andy's Very Own Fairy Stories (1975)
   Raggedy Ann and the Wonderful Witch (1977)
   Raggedy Ann and Andy (1977)
   Raggedy Ann and Andy and the Camel With the Wrinkled Knees (1977)
   Raggedy Ann's Magical Wishes (1977)
   Raggedy Ann and the Golden Ring (1978)
   Raggedy Ann and the Happy Meadow (1978)
   Raggedy Ann in Cookie Land (1978)
   Raggedy Ann and the Hobby Horse (1978)
   Raggedy Ann and Andy on the Farm (1978)
   Raggedy Ann and Andy and the Nice Fat Policeman (1979)
   Raggedy Ann in the Magic Book (1979)
   Raggedy Ann in the Deep Deep Woods (1979)
   Adventures of Raggedy Ann (1979)
   Raggedy Ann and the Wishing Pebble (1979)
   The Raggedy Ann and Andy Storybook (1980)
   The Old-Fashioned Raggedy Ann and Andy ABC Book (1981)
   Little Treasury of Raggedy Ann and Andy (1984)
   Raggedy Ann Magical Wishes (1985)
   Raggedy Ann and Andy Friend (1985)
   Raggedy Ann and Andy Sun Stories (1985)
   Raggedy Ann and Andy and the Gold Buttons (1985)
   Raggedy Ann and Andy's Animal Friends (1985)
   Raggedy Ann and Andy's Merry Adventures (1985)
   Raggedy Ann and the Pauper Dragon (1985)
   Raggedy Ann in Snow White Castle (1985)
   Raggedy Ann's Lucky Pen (1985)
   Raggedy Ann and Andy Giant Treasury (1987)
   Original Adventures of Raggedy Andy (1988)
   Original Adventures of Raggedy Ann (1988)
   Raggedy Ann and Andy Second Giant Treasury (1989)
   Orphant Annie Story Book (1989)
   The Original Adventures of Raggedy Ann and Raggedy Andy (1991)
   How Raggedy Ann Got Her Candy Heart (1998)
   Raggedy Ann's Wishing Pebble (1999)
   Raggedy Ann's Candy Heart Wisdom 2001 Calendar (2000)
   Raggedy Ann and Andy and the Nice Police Officer (2002)
   Raggedy Ann and Rags (2002)
   The Paper Dragon (2003)
   Raggedy Ann's Lucky Pennies (2003)
   Raggedy Ann Bedtime Stories (2005)
thumbthumbthumbno image available
no image availablethumbthumbthumb
no image availablethumbno image availablethumb
thumbthumbthumbno image available
no image available
Anthologies edited

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors