Aldous Huxley's picture

Aldous Huxley

(Aldous Leonard Huxley)
UK flag (1894 - 1963)

Aldous Huxley was born on 26th July 1894 near Godalming, Surrey. He began writing poetry and short stories in his early twenties, but it was his first novel, 'Crome Yellow' (1921), which established his literary reputation. This was swiftly followed by 'Antic Hay' (1923), 'Those Barren Leaves' (1925) and 'Point Counter Point' (1928) - bright, brilliant satires in which Huxley wittily but ruthlessly passed judgement on the shortcomings of contemporary society. For most of the 1920s Huxley lived in Italy and an account of his experiences there can be found in 'Along The Road' (1925).

In the years leading up to the Second World War, Huxley's work took on a more sombre tone in response to the confusion of a society which he felt to be spinning dangerously out of control. The great novels of ideas, including his most famous work 'Brave New World' (published in 1932 this warned against the dehumanising aspects of scientific and material 'progress') and the pacifist novel 'Eyeless in Gaza' (1936) were accompanied by a series of wise and brilliant essays, collected in volume form under titles such as 'Music at Night' (1931) and 'Enda and Means' (1937).

In 1937, at the height of his fame, Huxley left Europe to live in California, working for a time as a screenwriter in Hollywood. As the West braced itself for war, Huxley came increasingly to believe that the key to solving the world's problems lay in changing the individual through mystical enlightenment. The exploration of the inner life through mysticism and hallucinogenic drugs was to dominate his work for the rest of his life. His beliefs found expression in both fiction ('Time Must Have a Stop', 1944 and 'Island', 1962) and non-fiction ('The Perennial Philosophy', 1945, 'Grey Eminence', 1941 and the famous account of his first mescalin experience, 'The Doors of Perception', 1954.

Huxley died in California on 22nd November 1963.

Genres: Science Fiction
   Crome Yellow (1921)
   Antic Hay (1923)
   Those Barren Leaves (1925)
   Point Counter Point (1928)
   Brave New World (1932)
   Eyeless in Gaza (1936)
   After Many a Summer Dies the Swan (1939)
   Time Must Have a Stop (1944)
   Ape and Essence (1948)
   The Genius and the Goddess (1955)
   Island (1962)
   The Burning Wheel (poems) (1916)
   The Defeat of Youth (poems) (1918)
   Limbo (1918)
   Mortal Coils (1922)
   Young Archimedes (1924)
   Selected Poems (poems) (1925)
   Two or Three Graces (1926)
   Arabia Infelix and Other Poems (poems) (1929)
   Leda (poems) (1929)
   Brief Candles (1930)
   The Cicadas (poems) (1931)
   Rotunda (1932)
   The Olive Tree (1936)
   Ends and Means (1937)
   Stories, Essays, and Poems (1942)
   Little Mexican (1948)
   Themes and Variations (1950)
   Quintet (1956) (with others)
   After the Fireworks (1957)
   The Art of Seeing (1957)
   The Collected Poetry of Aldous Huxley (poems) (1971)
   The World of Aldous Huxley (1971)
   Collected Short Stories (1975)
Novellas and Short Stories
Plays show
Picture Books show
Non fiction show
Omnibus editions show
Anthologies containing stories by Aldous Huxley
Mark Twain's Medieval Romance (2012)
And Other Classic Mystery Stories
edited by
Otto Penzler
Crime and Crime Again (1990)
Unexpected Mystery Stories by the World's Great Writers
edited by
Martin H Greenberg, Barry N Malzberg and Bill Pronzini

More anthologies 

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors