book cover of The Return
Added by 21 of our members

The Return

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
A group of friends reunite after one of them has returned from a mysterious two-year disappearance in this edgy and haunting debut.

Julie is missing, and no one believes she will ever return—except Elise. Elise knows Julie better than anyone, and feels it in her bones that her best friend is out there and that one day Julie will come back. She’s right. Two years to the day that Julie went missing, she reappears with no memory of where she’s been or what happened to her. 

Along with Molly and Mae, their two close friends from college, the women decide to reunite at a remote inn. But the second Elise sees Julie, she knows something is wrong—she’s emaciated, with sallow skin and odd appetites. And as the weekend unfurls, it becomes impossible to deny that the Julie who vanished two years ago is not the same Julie who came back. But then who—or what—is she?

Genre: Horror

Praise for this book

"The Return expertly treads the fine line between thriller and horror. It's as deliciously creepy as opening up a box of candy-coated spiders-and eating them all in one sitting." - Christina Dalcher

"The Return is a sharp, refreshing book about the mortifying ordeal of being known. This is a book that understands how terrifying a lasting friendship can truly be; Harrison brilliantly highlights the way friendships can tether a person to their worst memories, their worst selves, and their worst nightmares." - Sarah Gailey

"Combining suspense and horror with razor-sharp insights into the nature of female friendships, Rachel Harrison's The Return is a creepy, nerve-wracking, page-turning addition to the emerging field of horror thrillers." - Alma Katsu

"By turns scary and funny, horrifying and real, The Return is impossible to put down. It takes an honest, scathing look at female friendship while at the same time pulling the reader into a perfect nightmare of a story." - Simone St James

"The Return is supernatural horror at its very best! Sharp dialogue, complex relationships and mind-bending action will have readers locking their doors and checking under their beds. Rachel Harrison has reinvented this genre and will surely be hailed as a pioneer among her peers." - Wendy Walker


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Rachel Harrison 2's The Return

Hardback Editions

March 2020 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Return: The creepy debut novel for fans of Stephen King, CJ Tudor and Alma Katsu
Author(s): Rachel Harrison
ISBN: 1-5293-5195-2 / 978-1-5293-5195-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2020 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Return
Author(s): Rachel Harrison
ISBN: 0-593-09866-8 / 978-0-593-09866-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Berkley
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

March 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Return: The creepy debut novel for fans of Stephen King, CJ Tudor and Alma Katsu
Author(s): Rachel Harrison
ISBN: 1-5293-5200-2 / 978-1-5293-5200-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


October 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Return
Author(s): Rachel Harrison
ISBN: 0-593-09867-6 / 978-0-593-09867-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Berkley
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Return: The creepy debut novel for fans of Stephen King, CJ Tudor and Alma Katsu
Author(s): Rachel Harrison
ISBN: 1-5293-5196-0 / 978-1-5293-5196-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Return
Author(s): Rachel Harrison
ISBN: 0-593-19768-2 / 978-0-593-19768-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Penguin Random House USA
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Return
Author(s): Rachel Harrison
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon   


March 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Return
Author(s): Rachel Harrison
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Return
Author(s): Rachel Harrison
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


March 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Return
Author(s): Rachel Harrison
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2020 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Return
Author(s): Rachel Harrison
Publisher: Berkley
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


March 2020 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Return: The creepy debut novel for fans of Stephen King, CJ Tudor and Alma Katsu
Author(s): Rachel Harrison
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU