Stephen Graham Jones's picture

Stephen Graham Jones


Stephen Graham Jones is the author of eight novels and two collections. Stephen's been a Shirley Jackson Award finalist three times, a Bram Stoker Award finalist, a Black Quill Award finalist, an International Horror Guild finalist, a Colorado Book Award Finalist, a Texas Monthly Book Selection, and has won the Texas Institute of Letters Award for Fiction and the Independent Publishers Award for Multicultural Fiction. He's also been a Texas Writers League Fellow and an NEA fellow in fiction. His short fiction has been in Cemetery Dance, Asimov's, Weird Tales, The Magazine of Bizarro Fiction, etc., as well as all the journals: Open City, Black Warrior Review, Alaska Quarterly Review, Literal Latte, Cutbank, and on and on, some hundred and thirty stories, total, through every letter of the alphabet.

Though Blackfeet, Stephen was born in 1972 in West Texas. This is often confusing, as most Blackfeet are in Montana and he grew up working from tractors and horses and in all kinds of welding and automotive shops. There was also lots of hunting and basketball and various scrapes with the law. After getting his PhD from Florida State University in a record two years, Stephen, twenty-eight then, went to work in the warehouse at Sear's (all he ever planned), but injuries forced him into teaching. And it's not a bad life, being a professor. Stephen made full professor at thirty-six--likely the youngest full prof in the humanities at The University of Colorado at Boulder (and maybe all of Colorado) and is into fiction, comics, film, screenwriting, and anything horror or fantasy, western or science fiction. Or, just anything that tells an interesting story in an interesting way.

Genres: Horror, Fantasy, Science Fiction
New and upcoming books
   The Fast Red Road (2000)
   All the Beautiful Sinners (2003)
   The Bird Is Gone (2003)
   Seven Spanish Angels (2005)
   Demon Theory (2006)
   Ledfeather (2008)
   The Long Trial of Nolan Dugatti (2008)
   It Came from del Rio (2010)
   Zombie Bake-Off (2012)
   Growing Up Dead in Texas (2012)
   The Last Final Girl (2012)
   Flushboy (2013)
   The Least of My Scars (2013)
   The Gospel of Z (2014)
   Not for Nothing (2014)
   The Floating Boy and the Girl Who Couldn't Fly (2014) (with Paul Tremblay)
   Mongrels (2016)
   The Only Good Indians (2019)
   I Was a Teenage Slasher (2024)
Novellas and Short Stories
   The Elvis Room (2014)
   Sterling City (2014)
   Chapter Six (2014)
   The Night Cyclist (2016)
   Mapping the Interior (2017)
   Attack of the 50 Foot Indian (2020)
   Night of the Mannequins (2020)
   Wait for Night (2020)
   Men, Women, and Chainsaws (2022)
Graphic Novels show
Omnibus editions show
Stephen Graham Jones recommends
The Body Harvest (2024)
Michael J Seidlinger
"A dangerously accurate snapshot of a society, as only Michael J Seidlinger could do."
The Warm Hands of Ghosts (2024)
Katherine Arden
"Katherine Arden isn't writing about World War I, she's writing from World War I - the diction, the madness, the desperation. But the hope, too - and maybe even a devil grinning at us from the trenches."
Whalefall (2023)
Daniel Kraus
"One of our oldest stories, one of our greatest fears, and one of our most capable writers. Stranger things than being swallowed by a whale have probably happened, but they've rarely been told so well."

More recommendations 

Anthologies containing stories by Stephen Graham Jones
The Year's Best Dark Fantasy & Horror: Volume Four (2023)
(Year's Best Dark Fantasy & Horror, book 4)
edited by
Paula Guran
Swords in the Shadows (2023)
edited by
Cullen Bunn

More anthologies 

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors