New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Rhys Hughes's picture

Rhys Hughes

(Rhys Henry Hughes)
UK flag (1966 - )

Rhys Hughes is Wales's best kept literary secret. Championed by the likes of Michael Moorcock his unique fantastical fictions have already achieved the level of cult-status. Influenced by Borges, Calvino and Stanislaw Lem, Hughes's fiction is both intellectual and hilarious with plenty of jokes, puns and satirical side-swipes to keep the reader constantly amused.

Nowhere Near Milk Wood (1987)
Romance with Capsicum (1987)
Eyelidiad (1988)
Worming the Harpy (1988)
The Smell of Telescopes (1993)
Rawhead and Bloody Bones And Elusive Plato (1998)
Stories from a Lost Anthology (2002)
Journeys Beyond Advice (2002)
A New Universal History of Infamy (2004)
At the Molehills of Madness (2006)
Less Lonely Planet (2008)
Mister Gum (2009)
The Brothel Creeper (2011)
Link Arms with Toads! (2011)
Flash in the Pantheon (2012)
Rhysop's Fables (2012)
Tallest Stories (2013)
The Just Not So Stories (2013)
More Than a Feline (2013)
Strange Tales IV (2014) (with Christopher Harman and Rebecca Lloyd)
The Gloomy Seahorse (poems) (2014)
The Lunar Tickle (2014)
Bone Idle in the Charnel House (2014)
Orpheus on the Underground (2015)
Thirty Tributes to Calvino (2015)
Mirrors in the Deluge (2015)
Surreal Worlds (2015) (with Bruce Boston, Tom Bradley, Seb Doubinsky, Michael Griffin, R A Harris, Gabino Iglesias, Max Booth III, Chris Kelso, Sean Leonard, Thomas Logan, John Palisano, Dustin Reade, Carter Rydyr, Steve Rasnic Tem, Daniel Vlasaty, Andrew Way and Wol-vriey)
The Million Word Storybook: Female Edition (2015)
The Million Word Storybook: Male Edition (2015)
Existence is Elsewhen (2016) (with J.A. Christy, Peter R. Ellis, John Gribbin, Steve Harrison, Edwin Hayward, Stefan Jackson, Andy McKell, Siobhan McVeigh, Robin Moran, Ira Nayman, Christopher G Nuttall, Susan Oke, Sanem Ozdural, Tanya Reimer, Chloe Skye, Douglas Thompson, Tej Turner, Dave Weaver and Peter Wolfe)
Sangria in the Sangraal (2016)
The Seashell Contract (2017)


Anthologies edited
Polluto (2008) (with Steve Redwood and Jeff VanderMeer)
Anthologies containing stories by Rhys Hughes
Short stories
The Purloined Liver (1997)
Spermaceti Whiskers (1999)British Fantasy Society (nominee)

British Fantasy Society Best Short Story nominee (1999) : Spermaceti Whiskers

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors

Search for