book cover of Flamingo Road

Flamingo Road

(2017)
(The first book in the Fia McKee series)
A novel by

 
 
Baltimore police officer Fia McKee is put on leave for excessive use of force after interfering in a crime that turns deadly. Given a second chance, she is sent to work undercover for the Thoroughbred Racing Protective Bureau (TRPB) at the Gulfstream Park in Florida, where she works as an exercise rider. Her assignment is to watch and report back on two racetrack workers who have been suspected of illegal activities and whose horses continue to outperform all expectations, winning their owners unseemly amounts of money in the races.

To complete her cover story, Fia moves in with her semi-estranged brother, Patrick, who lives near the racetrack. Her investigations are complicated when her niece, Jilly, disappears after a shadow gang takes Jilly's beloved horse. Now Fia must work two angles - first to find out what's really going on with the men who might or might not be gaming the system, and second to bring the men who prey on horses to justice. Along the way, Fia encounters Cuban gangs living off the grid, a (very handsome) do-gooder who's close on their trail, and a cabal of super wealthy gamblers who will stop at nothing to ensure they always win.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"A surefire winner, rich in authentic detail and heart-stopping suspense." - Andrew Grant

"A fast pace and a feisty heroine!" - Tami Hoag

"Fans of Kinsey Millhone and V. I. Warshawski, there’s a new sheriff in town. Her name’s Fia McKee and she’s as smart, tough, impetuous, cynical, caring, infuriating, likeable, sassy, sexy, temperamental, and courageous as those illustrious predecessors." - David Housewright

"In her new thriller, Sasscer Hill ups the ante on her horses. Could she be the Dick Francis of her generation? Count me among those who would vote yes." - Margaret Maron

"Paced like a roller coaster ride, Flamingo Road is rich with authentic South Florida setting and racetrack detail as it races through a story of betrayal, family loyalty, illicit drugs, and a set of thugs that will keep you reading late into the night." - Mark Pryor

"Fast paced, suspenseful, and cleverly plotted." - Hank Phillippi Ryan


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Disappeared
(Joe Pickett, book 18)
C J Box
thumb
Pulse
(Dick Francis Novels, book 7)
Felix Francis
thumb
Crisis
(Dick Francis Novels, book 8)
Felix Francis
thumb
Wolf Pack
(Joe Pickett, book 19)
C J Box

Used availability for Sasscer Hill's Flamingo Road

Hardback Editions

April 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Flamingo Road: A Mystery (A Fia McKee Mystery)
Author(s): Sasscer Hill
ISBN: 1-250-09691-X / 978-1-250-09691-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

April 2017 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Flamingo Road: A Mystery (A Fia McKee Mystery Book 1)
Author(s): Sasscer Hill
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU