book cover of The Pale House Devil
Added by 36 members
 

The Pale House Devil

(2023)
A novel by

 
 
A gripping, snappy creature feature from the master of horror noir about two detectives—one dead, one living—hired by an embittered old landowner to banish a bloody cosmic monster from his ancestral home, perfect for fans of Cassandra Khaw, Charles Stross and Lucy A. Snyder.

Ford and Neuland are paranormal mercenaries—one living, one undead; one of them kills the undead, the other kills the living. When a job goes bad in New York, they head west to wait for the heat to cool down. 

There, a young woman named Tilda Rosenbloom hires them on behalf of wealthy landowner, Shepherd Mansfield, to track and kill a demon haunting a mansion in remote northern California. 

As Ford and Neuland investigate the creature they uncover a legacy of blood, sacrifice and slavery in the house. Forced to confront a powerful creature unlike anything they’ve faced before, they come to learn that the most frightening monster might not be the one they're hunting...

Genre: Horror

Praise for this book

"The Pale House Devil is a fast paced riot of a horror novella with the perfect combo of creepy and comedic. I loved every page!" - V Castro

"A perfect, meaty morsel of a story merging traditional pulp with modern mythology and murderous characters that will steal your heart. I read it in one go and am devilishly hungry for more." - Delilah S Dawson

"A gleeful, bloody mashup of the occult, haunted houses, monsters, demons, assassins, and the undead. Only Kadrey could tie all these dark tropes together with such self-assured wizardry, carefully adding just enough gooey violence to make you squirm as you read, wondering what new insanity waits for you on the next page. A shot of horror adrenaline!" - Philip Fracassi

"The Pale House Devil is so much damn fun, a horror-noir filled with grotesque evil and witty, tough-guy banter. Ford and Neuland jump off the page like Hap and Leonard with demons. I can't wait to see what Kadrey does with them next!" - Christopher Golden

"A gruesome, thrilling, surprisingly big-hearted page-turner. I hope Kadrey revisits this world and these characters--and soon." - Shaun Hamill

"A snappy, delicious mix of Lovecraftian horror and pulp noir. In a world where magic reigns and the dead can be reborn, two upright guns-for-hire see that justice prevails and that evil--real evil--always get its due." - Alma Katsu

"The Pale House Devil showcases Kadrey's gift for gritty characters and snappy dialogue, but also his talent for eerie settings and lean, cruel horror." - Cassandra Khaw

"It's difficult to make a novella seem so effortless. Great characters, sharp dialogue, complex relationships, and a terrifying and original monster! Kadrey loads every page with dread and delight." - Tim Lebbon

"Richard Kadrey delivers devious chills with The Pale House Devil! This is a perfect collision of haunted house terror and private-eye noir. Dead solid perfect!" - Jonathan Maberry

"If the supernatural odds are stacked against you, you need Ford and Neuland fighting your corner. The Pale House Devil is a bold, jaw-dropping novella that reads like it's the lovechild of Raymond Chandler and Shirley Jackson possessed by the spirit of Robert Bloch." - Johnny Mains

"Hardboiled hit-men and haunted house horrors - makes for a fast-read pulp treat." - Kim Newman

"This book is scary, jaw-dropping, often hilarious and, I hope, the start of a beautiful friendship. I loved the characters and I loved the story." - David Quantick

"Kadrey's The Pale House Devil is a delightfully monstrous romp, the perfect mix of noir, urban fantasy and horror. A darkly funny, morbid tale of murder, revenge and godfathers of the best-worst kind." - A G Slatter

"The Pale House Devil is taut, entertaining, and satisfying. A top-drawer supernatural noir!" - Lucy A Snyder

"A thrilling, inventive, pulpy, bi-coastal romp with a bloody beating heart. The roguishly principled and endearing Ford and Neuland can kill for me anytime. I have a list ready." - Paul Tremblay


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Richard Kadrey's The Pale House Devil


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors