book cover of The Lion Wakes
Added by 43 members

The Lion Wakes

(The first book in the Kingdom Trilogy series)
A novel by

The first novel in a major new series as Robert Low moves from the Vikings to the making of Scotland. It is 1296 and Scotland is in turmoil. The old king, Alexander III, has died after falling off his horse one dark and stormy night. Scotland's future is in peril. Edward I of England, desperate to keep control of his northern borders, arranges for John Baliol, a weak man who Edward knows he can manipulate, to take leadership of Scotland. But unrest is rife and many are determined to throw off the shackles of England. Among those men is Robert the Bruce, darkly handsome, young, angry and obsessed by his desire to win Scotland's throne. He will fight for the freedom of the Scots until the end. But there are many rival factions and the English are a strong and fearsome opponent. The Lion Wakes culminates in the Battle of Falkirk which proves to be the beginning of a rivalry that will last for decades!

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"An intensely exciting, enjoyable and satisfying novel of honour, chivalry, self-interest and fear." - Harry Sidebottom

Visitors also looked at these books

Used availability for Robert Low's The Lion Wakes

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors