Barry Maitland's picture

Barry Maitland

Scotland (b.1941)

Barry Maitland is the author of the acclaimed Brock and Kolla series of crime mystery novels, which are set in London, where Barry grew up after his family moved there.

His books have been described as whydunits as much as whodunits, concerned with the devious histories and motivations of their characters. Barry's background in architecture drew him to the structured character of the mystery novel, and his books are notable for their ingenious plots as well as for their atmospheric settings, each in a different intriguing corner of London.

Barry studied architecture at Cambridge University, and went on to work as an architect in the UK, then took a PhD in urban design at the University of Sheffield, where he also taught and wrote a number of books on architecture and urban design. In 1984 he moved to Australia to head the architecture school at the University of Newcastle in New South Wales, and held that position until 2000. He now writes fiction full time, and lives in the Hunter Valley, Australia.

Genres: Mystery
Brock and Kolla
   1. The Marx Sisters (1994)
   2. The Malcontenta (1995)
   3. All My Enemies (1996)
   4. The Chalon Heads (1999)
   5. Silvermeadow (2000)
   6. Babel (2002)
   7. The Verge Practice (2003)
   8. No Trace (2006)
   9. Spider Trap (2007)
   10. Dark Mirror (2009)
   11. Chelsea Mansions (2011)
   12. Raven's Eye (2013)
   13. The Promised Land (2019)
   14. The Russian Wife (2021)
Belltree Trilogy
   1. Crucifixion Creek (2015)
   2. Ash Island (2015)
   3. Slaughter Park (2016)
   Bright Air (2008)

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors