book cover of The Magician\'s Lie

The Magician's Lie

(2015)
A novel by

 
 
A USA Today Bestseller

'[A] well-paced, evocative, and adventurous historical novel...' --Publishers Weekly, STARRED Review

'This is a book in which storylines twist, spiral and come together again in an ending as explosive as a poof of smoke from your chimney... or a top hat.' --Oprah.com

'Smart, intricately plotted... a richly imagined thriller.' --PEOPLE magazine

'This debut novel is historical fiction that blends magic, mystery, and romance.' --Boston Globe, Pick of the Week

'It's a captivating yarn... Macallister, like the Amazing Arden, mesmerizes her audience. No sleight of hand is necessary. An ambitious heroine and a captivating tale are all the magic she needs.' --Washington Post

'A wonderfully dark and intriguing historical thriller... I loved it!' --Hazel Gaynor, New York Times bestselling author of The Girl Who Came Home

The Amazing Arden is the most famous female illusionist of her day, renowned for her notorious trick of sawing a man in half on stage. But one night she swaps her trademark saw for an axe.

When Arden's husband is found dead later that night, the answer seems clear, most of all to young policeman Virgil Holt.

Captured and taken into custody, all seems set for Arden's swift confession. But she has a different story to tell. Even handcuffed and alone, Arden is far from powerless, and what she reveals is as unbelievable as it is spellbinding.

A magical and mysterious historical thriller, perfect for fans of The Night Circus and Water for Elephants.

Genre: Historical Mystery

Praise for this book

"The Magician's Lie is a rich tale of heart-stopping plot turns, glittering prose, and a cast of complex, compelling characters. Reader beware: those who enter Macallister's delicious world of magic and mystery won't wish to leave!" - Allison Pataki

"Greer Macallister handles the reader with the command and brilliance of a world class ringmaster. The Magician's Lie is a mesmerizing novel of illusion, secrets, and suspense. Bravo!" - Erika Robuck

"The Magician's Lie is riveting, compelling, beautiful, frightening, evocative and above all magical. Don't miss this immersive novel of suspense and wonder from an exciting new voice in historical fiction!" - M J Rose

"A suspenseful and well-researched tale of magic, secrets and betrayal that will keep you guessing until the end." - J Courtney Sullivan


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Greer Macallister's The Magician's Lie

Hardback Editions

March 2017 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Magician's Lie
Author(s): Greer Macallister
ISBN: 1-78719-996-7 / 978-1-78719-996-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Legend Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2015 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Magicians Lie (Thorndike Press Large Print Historical Fiction)
Author(s): Greer Macallister
ISBN: 1-4104-7756-8 / 978-1-4104-7756-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2015 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Magician's Lie: A Novel
Author(s): Greer Macallister
ISBN: 1-4022-9868-4 / 978-1-4022-9868-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

October 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Magician's Lie
Author(s): Greer Macallister
ISBN: 1-78719-998-3 / 978-1-78719-998-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Legend Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2015 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Magician's Lie: A Novel
Author(s): Greer Macallister
ISBN: 1-4926-2899-9 / 978-1-4926-2899-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2015 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Magician's Lie
Author(s): Greer Macallister
ISBN: 1-4926-3445-X / 978-1-4926-3445-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2015 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Magician's Lie
Author(s): Greer Macallister
ISBN: 1-4926-3446-8 / 978-1-4926-3446-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2015 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Magician's Lie
Author(s): Greer Macallister
ISBN: 1-4926-2312-1 / 978-1-4926-2312-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Sourcebooks Inc
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

February 2016 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Magician's Lie, The
Author(s): Greer Macallister
ISBN: 1-5113-7553-1 / 978-1-5113-7553-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2015 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Magician's Lie: A Novel
Author(s): Greer Macallister
ISBN: 1-4915-8524-2 / 978-1-4915-8524-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2015 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Magician's Lie: A Novel
Author(s): Greer Macallister
ISBN: 1-4915-8521-8 / 978-1-4915-8521-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2015 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Magician's Lie: A Novel
Author(s): Greer Macallister
ISBN: 1-4915-8522-6 / 978-1-4915-8522-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2015 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Magician's Lie
Author(s): Greer Macallister
ISBN: 1-4915-8523-4 / 978-1-4915-8523-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Magician's Lie: A Novel
Author(s): Greer Macallister
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   


January 2015 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Magician's Lie: A Novel
Author(s): Greer Macallister
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


January 2015 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Magician's Lie: A Novel
Author(s): Greer Macallister
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2017 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Magician's Lie
Author(s): Greer Macallister
Publisher: Legend Press
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Magician's Lie
Author(s): Greer Macallister
Publisher: Legend Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


October 2015 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Magician's Lie: A Novel
Author(s): Greer Macallister
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA