James Meek's picture
20 books added

James Meek

UK flag (b.1962)

James Meek was born in London in 1962 and grew up in Dundee. He has published two novels, Mcfarlane Boils The Sea and Drivetime, and two collections of short stories, Last Orders and, most recently, The Museum Of Doubt. He contributed to the acclaimed Rebel Inc anthologies The Children Of Albion Rovers and The Rovers Return.

He has worked as a newspaper reporter since 1985. He lived in the former Soviet Union from 1991 to 1999. He now lives in London, where he writes for the Guardian, and contributes to the London Review of Books and Granta. In 2004 his reporting from Iraq and about Guantanamo Bay won a number of British and international awards.

Genres: Historical, Literary Fiction
   Last Orders (1992)
   The Museum of Doubt (2000)
Non fiction show
James Meek recommends
God's Teeth and Other Phenomena (2020)
James Kelman
"The real reason Kelman, despite his stature and reputation, remains something of a literary outsider is not, I suspect, so much that great, radical Modernist writers aren't supposed to come from working-class Glasgow, as that great, radical Modernist writers are supposed to be dead. Dead, and wrapped up in a Penguin Classic: that's when it's safe to regret that their work was underappreciated or misunderstood (or how little they were paid) in their lifetimes. You can write what you like about Beckett or Kafka and know they're not going to come round and tell you you're talking nonsense, or confound your expectations with a new work. Kelman is still alive, still writing great books, climbing."

Books containing stories by James Meek
Children of Albion Rovers (1997)
An Anthology of New Scottish Writing
edited by
Kevin Williamson

Award nominations
2020 Walter Scott Prize for Best Historical Novel (nominee) : To Calais, In Ordinary Time
2012 Costa Book Award for Best Novel (nominee) : The Heart Broke In
2005 Booker Prize (longlist) : The People's Act of Love

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors