Margaret Murphy's picture

Margaret Murphy

UK flag (b.1959)

aka Ashley Dyer, A D Garrett

Margaret Murphy was born and raised in Liverpool, gaining her first degree in Environmental Biology and her MA in Creative Writing at the University of Liverpool and JMU respectively. She has written 10 internationally acclaimed and bestselling psychological thrillers under her own name, and 5 forensic thrillers as Ashley Dyer and AD Garrett. She is a past Chair of the Crime Writers Association (CWA), founder of Murder Squad, and a former RLF Writing Fellow and Reading Round Lector. A Short Story Dagger, HRF Keating, and CWA Red Herring award winner, she has also been shortlisted for the ‘First Blood’ critics award and CWA Dagger in the Library. Margaret is a patron of Smithdown Litfest in Liverpool and co-founder of Perfect Crime UK, Liverpool’s first ever crime festival.

Genres: Mystery
   Goodnight, My Angel (1996)
   The Desire of the Moth (1997)
     aka The Darkest Hours
   Caging the Tiger (1998)
   Past Reason (1999)
   Dying Embers (2000)
   Dear Mum (2020)
   Her Husband's Killer (2020)
   The Lost Boy (2020)
   The Book of Liverpool (2008) (with Ramsey Campbell, Roger McGough and Brian Patten)