Mervyn Peake's picture
Followed by 5 of our members

Mervyn Peake

(Mervyn Laurence Peake)
UK flag (1911 - 1968)

Mervyn Peake's masterpiece, the Gormenghast trilogy, is a gothic fantasy whose strange characters' lives are dominated by the labyrinthine castle of Gormenghast and its ancient rituals. Peake was also a brilliant artist which perhaps accounts for the unique visual intensity of his creation.

Mervyn Peake was born in China in 1911 of medical missionary parents. He began to draw, paint and write stories at an early age. His first book of poems, Shapes and Sounds, was published in 1941. He is probably best known for his Titus novels - Titus Groan, Gormenghast and Titus Alone - but other well-known poetry collections include: The Glassblowers and The Rhyme of the Flying Bomb. He married Maeve Gilmore in 1937. He was awarded the W.H. Heinemann Foundation Prize by the Royal Society of Literature in 1950. Mervyn Peake died after a long illness in 1968.

Genres: Fantasy
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Mervyn Peake
Short stories
Danger: Religion! (with Brian Aldiss, Anonymous and J G Ballard)
Boy in Darkness [short story] (1956) (with Brian Aldiss, Anonymous and J G Ballard)
The Voices of Time [short story] (1960) (with Brian Aldiss, Anonymous and J G Ballard)
Danse Macabre (1963)
Same Time, Same Place (1963)
The Party at Lady Cusp-Canine's (1969)

Books about Mervyn Peake
thumbthumbno image availablethumb
thumbno image available