book cover of A House of Ghosts
Added by 5 of our members

A House of Ghosts

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
Shortlisted for the Irish Book Award, a classic cozy big-house mystery haunted by the specters of World War One - for readers of Agatha Christie and Simone St. James.

Winter 1917. As the First World War enters its most brutal phase, back home in England, everyone is seeking answers to the darkness that has seeped into their lives. At Blackwater Abbey, on an island off the Devon coast, armaments manufacturer Lord Highmount has arranged a spiritualist gathering to contact his two sons, both of whom died at the front.

Among the guests, two have been secretly dispatched from the intelligence service: Kate Cartwright, a friend of the family who lost her beloved brother at the Somme and who, in the realm of the spiritual, has her own special gift; and the mysterious Captain Donovan, recently returned from Europe. Top secret plans for weapons developed by Lord Highmount's company have turned up in Berlin, and there is reason to believe enemy spies will be in attendance. As the guests arrive, it becomes clear that each has something they would rather keep hidden. Then, when a storm descends, they find themselves trapped on the island. Soon one of their number will die. For Blackwater Abbey is haunted in more ways than one . . .
An unrelenting, gripping mystery, packed with twists and turns and a kindling of romance, A House of Ghosts is the perfect cold-weather read.

Genre: Horror

Praise for this book

"Hugely enjoyable, A House of Ghosts has the bones of a taut thriller wrapped up in the gorgeous romance of its ghostly island setting." - Jane Casey

"Spooks, spies, seances, things that go bump in the night - A House of Ghosts has it all. A tremendously enjoyable, ingeniously-plotted take on the haunted house mystery. Best read before dark!" - Tammy Cohen

"A thoroughly enjoyable novel that seemed to combine all my favourite things - history, crime, entertainingly spiky romance and an eerily evocative setting. An absolute treat." - Elly Griffiths

"A splendid tale of wartime skullduggery, featuring both kinds of spooks - perfect fireside reading." - Mick Herron

"An atmospheric, hugely entertaining mystery that offers all the pleasures of a classic ghost story - with an appealing dash of romance. William Ryan is a wonderful storyteller and A House of Ghostswill keep you up reading (and shivering) deep into the night." - Antonia Hodgson

"Perfect for a dark and stormy evening: a truly creepy and ingenious ghost story and murder mystery with an irresistible setting." - Ragnar Jónasson

"Almost unbearably creepy and beautifully written." - Liz Nugent


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for W C Ryan's A House of Ghosts

Hardback Editions

October 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: A House of Ghosts: A Gripping Murder Mystery Set in a Haunted House
Author(s): W C Ryan
ISBN: 1-948924-71-4 / 978-1-948924-71-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Arcade
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: A House of Ghosts: A gripping murder mystery set in a haunted house
Author(s): W C Ryan
ISBN: 1-78576-651-1 / 978-1-78576-651-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

October 2019 : UK Paperback

Title: A House of Ghosts: A gripping murder mystery set in a haunted house
Author(s): W C Ryan
ISBN: 1-78576-711-9 / 978-1-78576-711-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


October 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: A House of Ghosts
Author(s): W C Ryan
ISBN: 1-78576-712-7 / 978-1-78576-712-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Zaffre Publishing
Availability: Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

October 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: A House of Ghosts
Author(s): W C Ryan
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon   


October 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: A House of Ghosts
Author(s): W C Ryan
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon AU   


October 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: A House of Ghosts
Author(s): W C Ryan
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

October 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A House of Ghosts: A Gripping Murder Mystery Set in a Haunted House
Author(s): W C Ryan
Publisher: Arcade
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


October 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A House of Ghosts: A gripping murder mystery set in a haunted house
Author(s): W C Ryan
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU