Nicholas Shakespeare's picture

Nicholas Shakespeare

UK flag (b.1957)

Nicholas Shakespare is the author of The Vision of Elena Silvers(1989), winner of the Somerset Maugham Award, The High Flyer, for which he was nominated for the Grants list in 1993 and The Dancer upstairs which was chosen by the American Libraries Association as the best novel of 1997. In 1999 his biography, Bruce Chatwin was published to great critical acclaim.

Genres: Thriller, General Fiction
Non fiction
   Men Who Would be King (1984)
   Londoners (1986)
   Bruce Chatwin (1999)
   In Tasmania (2004)
   Under the Sun (2010) (with Elizabeth Chatwin)
   Priscilla (2013)
   Six Minutes in May (2017)
Betty Trask Award Best First Novel nominee (1990) : The Vision of Elena Silves
Booker Prize Best Novel nominee (2004) : Snowleg

Nicholas Shakespeare recommends
The Virago Book of Love Letters (1994)
Jill Dawson
"The letters which catch the reader's heart are those framed by the drama of an impossible or illicit passion."
The Loss Adjustor (2010)
Aifric Campbell
"Sexy, sad, riven with longing. The Loss Adjustor confirms a talent of unusual promise."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors