book cover of The Kind Worth Killing
Added by 68 of our members

The Kind Worth Killing

(2015)
A novel by

 
 
A devious tale of psychological suspense perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins’ The Girl on the Train—and is soon to be a major movie directed by Agnieszka Holland.

In a tantalizing set-up reminiscent of Patricia Highsmith’s classic Strangers on a Train… On a night flight from London to Boston, Ted Severson meets the stunning and mysterious Lily Kintner. Sharing one too many martinis, the strangers begin to play a game of truth, revealing very intimate details about themselves. Ted talks about his marriage that’s going stale and his wife Miranda, who he’s sure is cheating on him. Ted and his wife were a mismatch from the start—he the rich businessman, she the artistic free spirit—a contrast that once inflamed their passion, but has now become a cliché.

But their game turns a little darker when Ted jokes that he could kill Miranda for what she’s done. Lily, without missing a beat, says calmly, “I’d like to help.” After all, some people are the kind worth killing, like a lying, stinking, cheating spouse. . . .

Back in Boston, Ted and Lily’s twisted bond grows stronger as they begin to plot Miranda's demise. But there are a few things about Lily’s past that she hasn’t shared with Ted, namely her experience in the art and craft of murder, a journey that began in her very precocious youth.

Suddenly these co-conspirators are embroiled in a chilling game of cat-and-mouse, one they both cannot survive . . . with a shrewd and very determined detective on their tail.

 

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Chilling and hypnotically suspenseful ... could be an instant classic." - Lee Child

"An extraordinarily well-written tale of deceit and revenge told by a very gifted writer. Peter Swanson takes us on a harrowing journey through the hearts and minds of a cast of characters who seem normal on the outside, but are deliciously abnormal on the inside." - Nelson DeMille

"Gone Girl on speed." - Daisy Goodwin

"Gripping, elegantly and stylishly written, and extremely hard to put down!" - Sophie Hannah

"A work of lovely violence and graceful malevolence, The Kind Worth Killing slips into your life like a stiletto in the ribs. This is a book that launches Peter Swanson straight into the ranks of the killer elite, alongside Tana French and Gillian Flynn. He's the real deal." - Joe Hill

"Filled with double-timers and double-crossers, cold-eyed stalkers and cold-blooded murderers, The Kind Worth Killing paints a riveting, disturbing picture of marriage gone horribly awry, with no shortage of startling surprises. If you're engaged to get married, by all means read something else." - Chris Pavone


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Peter Swanson's The Kind Worth Killing

Hardback Editions

January 2015 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Kind Worth Killing
Author(s): Peter Swanson
ISBN: 0-571-30219-X / 978-0-571-30219-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


February 2015 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Kind Worth Killing: A Novel
Author(s): Peter Swanson
ISBN: 0-06-226752-3 / 978-0-06-226752-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

October 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Kind Worth Killing: A Novel
Author(s): Peter Swanson
ISBN: 0-06-226753-1 / 978-0-06-226753-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2016 : USA Mass Market Paperback
thumb

Title: The Kind Worth Killing: A Novel
Author(s): Peter Swanson
ISBN: 0-06-245031-X / 978-0-06-245031-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Kind Worth Killing
Author(s): Peter Swanson
ISBN: 0-571-30222-X / 978-0-571-30222-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2015 : UK Mass Market Paperback
thumb

Title: KIND WORTH KILLING
Author(s): PETER SWANSON
ISBN: 0-571-30221-1 / 978-0-571-30221-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: FABER & FABER OME
Availability: Amazon UK   


February 2015 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Kind Worth Killing: A Novel
Author(s): Peter Swanson
ISBN: 0-06-237004-9 / 978-0-06-237004-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperLuxe
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Kind Worth Killing
Author(s): Peter Swanson
ISBN: 0-571-30220-3 / 978-0-571-30220-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

September 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Kind Worth Killing
Author(s): Peter Swanson
ISBN: 1-79995-076-X / 978-1-79995-076-9
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   


September 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Kind Worth Killing Lib/E
Author(s): Peter Swanson
ISBN: 1-79995-075-1 / 978-1-79995-075-2
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


September 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Kind Worth Killing: A Novel
Author(s): Peter Swanson
ISBN: 1-79995-077-8 / 978-1-79995-077-6
Publisher: HarperCollins B and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Kind Worth Killing: A Novel
Author(s): Peter Swanson
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


September 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Kind Worth Killing: A Novel
Author(s): Peter Swanson
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Kind Worth Killing
Author(s): Peter Swanson
Publisher: W. F. Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


April 2016 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Kind Worth Killing
Author(s): Peter Swanson
Publisher: W. F. Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Kind Worth Killing
Author(s): Peter Swanson
Publisher: W. F. Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


February 2015 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Kind Worth Killing
Author(s): Peter Swanson
ISBN: 1-5046-1064-4 / 978-1-5046-1064-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


February 2015 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Kind Worth Killing Lib/E
Author(s): Peter Swanson
ISBN: 1-5046-1062-8 / 978-1-5046-1062-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2015 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Kind Worth Killing
Author(s): Peter Swanson
ISBN: 1-5046-1063-6 / 978-1-5046-1063-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

February 2015 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Kind Worth Killing
Author(s): Peter Swanson
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


February 2015 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Kind Worth Killing: A Novel
Author(s): Peter Swanson
Publisher: William Morrow
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA