John Tigges's picture
1 follower

John Tigges

(1932 - 2009)

aka William Essex

Tigges began his career as an author and writer in 1973. He wrote more than thirty-eight books under his own name and pen names "Ned Stone" and "William Essex."

In 1976 Tigges was commissioned to write Jean Marie Cardinal, an historical novel. Teaming with James Shaffer, he wrote Dubuque: The 19th Century, Dubuque: The 20th Century, Iowas Last Narrow-Gauge Railroad, and Railroads of Dubuque, Iowa. Tigges wrote such novels as Garden of the Incubus, Unto the Altar, Kiss Not the Child, Evil Dreams, The Immortal, Hand of Lucifer, As Evil Does, Vessel, Comes the Wraith, Venom, and Book of the Dead. Under the pen name William Essex he wrote The Pack, Slime, and From Below. He wrote Mountain Massacre, and Rails to Hades using the name Ned Stone. Tigges founded the Sinipee Writers Workshop and taught writing seminars in Iowa and Wisconsin.

Tigges made many contributions locally to the field of music. He established the Dubuque "Pops" orchestra and co-founded the DUBUQUE SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA in 1956. Tigges served as business manager of the symphony for ten years and played violin with it from 1958 to 1968 and again from 1971 to 1973. In 1972 Tigges founded the Julien Strings, a society string orchestra. He led the group and played violin.

Genres: Horror
   Garden of the Incubus (1982)
   Unto the Altar (1985)
   Evil Dreams (1986)
   The Immortal (1986)
   Kiss Not the Child (1986)
   Hands of Lucifer (1987)
   As Evil Does (1987)
   The Pack (1987) (as by William Essex)
   Venom (1988)
   Slime (1988) (as by William Essex)
   Vessel (1988)
   From Below (1989) (as by William Essex)
   Book of the Dead (1989)
   Comes the Wraith (1990)
   The Curse (1993)
   Monster (1995)

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors