New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Barbara Vine's picture

Barbara Vine

A pseudonym used by Ruth Rendell

Rendell created a third strand of writing with the publication of A Dark Adapted Eye under her pseudonym Barbara Vine in 1986. Books such as King Solomon's Carpet, A Fatal Inversion and Anna's Book (original UK title Asta's Book) inhabit the same territory as her psychological crime novels while they further develop themes of family misunderstandings and the side effects of secrets kept and crimes done. Rendell is famous for her elegant prose and sharp insights into the human mind, as well as her ability to create cogent plots and characters. Rendell has also injected the social changes of the last 40 years into her work, bringing awareness to such issues as domestic violence and the change in the status of women.

Edgar Awards Best Novel winner (1987) : A Dark Adapted Eye

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Ruth Rendell
Minette Walters
Elizabeth George
P D James
Anne Perry
Peter Robinson
Penny Vincenzi
Ian Rankin
Jonathan Kellerman
Alexander McCall Smith
Andrew Vachss
Fred Vargas
Sue Grafton
Michael Connelly
Linwood Barclay