Charles Bukowski's picture
Followed by 5 of our members

Charles Bukowski

USA flag (1920 - 1994)

Charles Bukowski's beat generation writing reflects his slum upbringing, his succession of menial jobs and his experience of low-life urban America. He was born in Andernach, Germany, and raised in Los Angeles, where he lived for fifty years. He died in 1994 at the age of 73 and is widely acknowledged as one of the most distinctive poets of the last 50 years.
Flower, Fist and Bestial Wail (1960)
Longshot Poems for Broke Players (poems) (1962)
Run With the Hunted (1962)
It Catches My Heart in its Hands (poems) (1963)
Cold Dogs in the Courtyard (1965)
Confessions of a Man Insane Enough to Live with Beasts (1965)
Crucifix in a Deathhand (poems) (1965)
The Genius of the Crowd (1966)
At Terror Street and Agony Way (1968)
Poems Written Before Jumping Out of an 8 Story Window (poems) (1968)
A Bukowski Sampler (1969)
The Days Run Away Like Wild Horses Over the Hills (poems) (1969)
Mockingbird Wish Me Luck (1972)
Erections, Ejaculations, Exhibitions, and General Tales of Ordinary Madness (1972)
Burning in Water, Drowning In Flame (poems) (1974)
South of No North (1975)
Love is a Dog from Hell (poems) (1977)
Play the Piano Drunk (1979)
Dangling in the Tournefortia (1982)
The Most Beautiful Woman in Town (1983)
Tales of Ordinary Madness (1983)
Hot Water Music (1983)
All's Normal Here (1983)
War All the Time (poems) (1984)
You Get So Alone at Times that It Just Makes Sense (1986)
The Roominghouse Madrigals (poems) (1988)
Septuagenarian Stew (poems) (1990)
In the Shadow of the Rose (poems) (1991)
The Last Night of the Earth Poems (poems) (1992)
Betting on the Muse (poems) (1996)
Bone Palace Ballet (poems) (1997)
What Matters Most Is How Well You Walk Through the Fire (1999)
Open All Night (poems) (2000)
The Night Torn Mad with Footsteps (poems) (2001)
Sifting Through the Madness for the Word, the Line, the Way: New Poems Book 1 (poems) (2002)
Sifting Through the Madness for the Word, the Line, the Way: New Poems Book 2 (poems) (2003)
The Flash of Lightning Behind the Mountain (poems) (2003)
New Poems Book Three (poems) (2004)
Slouching Toward Nirvana (poems) (2005)
Come on In! (poems) (2006)
The People Look Like Flowers At Last (poems) (2007)
The Pleasures of the Damned (poems) (2007)
Portions from a Wine-Stained Notebook (2008)
The Continual Condition (poems) (2009)
Absence of the Hero (2010)
New Poems Book One (poems) (2011)
New Poems Book Two (poems) (2011)
New Poems Book Four (poems) (2011)
The Bell Tolls for No One (2015)
Storm for the Living and the Dead (poems) (2017)
Essential Bukowski: Poetry (poems) (2018)
thumbno image availablethumbthumb
thumbthumbthumbno image available
thumbthumbno image availablethumb