New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
T Coraghessan Boyle's picture

T C Boyle

(Thomas Coraghessan Boyle)
USA flag (1948 - )

T. Coraghessan Boyle is the author of sixteen books of fiction, including, most recently, After the Plague (2001), Drop City (2003) and The Inner Circle (2004). He received a Ph.D. degree in Nineteenth Century British Literature from the University of Iowa in 1977, his M.F.A. from the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop in 1974, and his B.A. in English and History from SUNY Potsdam in 1968. He has been a member of the English Department at the University of Southern California since 1978. His books are available in a number of foreign languages, including German, French, Italian, Dutch, Portuguese, Spanish, Russian, Hebrew, Korean, Japanese, Danish, Swedish, Lithuanian, Latvian, Polish, Hungarian and Bulgarian. His stories have appeared in most of the major American magazines, including The New Yorker, Harper's, Esquire, The Atlantic Monthly, Playboy, The Paris Review, GQ, Antaeus, Granta and McSweeney's, and he has been the recipient of a number of literary awards. He currently lives near Santa Barbara with his wife and three children.
Series contributed to
Anthologies edited
Anthologies containing stories by T C Boyle
Short stories
Descent of Man [short story] (1977)
The Champ (1978)
Bloodfall (1985)

PEN/Faulkner Award for fiction Best Book winner (1988) : World's End
National Book Award for Fiction Best Book nominee (2003) : Drop City

T C Boyle recommends
Quinn's Book (1988)
(Albany Cycle, book 4)
William Kennedy
"A revelation. Large-minded, ardent, alive on every page, it is a novel to savor."
The Crash of Hennington (2003)
Patrick Ness
"Funny, subversive... Patrick Ness recreates the world as we know it, infusing it with a charm and whimsy that brings to mind Calvino."
Mentor (2010)
Tom Grimes
"One of the truest accounts of a writer's life - of two writers' lives - I've yet seen. A poignant and beautiful book."
History of Wolves (2017)
Emily Fridlund
"As exquisite a first novel as I've ever encountered. Poetic, complex and utterly, heartbreakingly beautiful."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors