Nancy Buckingham

UK flag (b.1924)

aka Christina Abbey, Nancy John, Hilary London, Erica Quest

Nancy Jean Buckingham was born on 10 August 1924 in Bristol, England, UK. In 1949, she married John Sawyer, born on 4 October 1919 in London, England, UK. They formed one of the most popular writting-team marriage. The first books published under her maiden name Nancy Buckingham since 1967, are classical gothic novels. In 1970s, they started to used the pseudonyms: Christina Abbey and Erica Quest. In 1980, they sold her first novels to Silhouette, and they mixed their names to create the penname Nancy John. They also published one novel as Hilary London. The last novels that they published are a popular police series as Erica Quest, protagonized by the Detective Chief Inspector Kate Maddox. Their last novel was released in 1992.

Nancy Jean Buckingham Sawyer was the eighth elected Chairman (1973-1975) of the Romantic Novelists' Association, and is now one of its vice-presidents. John passed away in 1994.

Genres: Mystery
The Hour Before Moonrise (1967)
Storm in the Mountains (1967)
     aka Heart of Marble
Victim of Love (1967)
Call of Glengarron (1968)
The Dark Summer (1968)
The Legend of Baverstock Manor (1968)
Romantic Journey (1968)
Kiss of Hot Sun (1969)
Secret of The Ghostly Shroud (1969)
Cloud Over Malverton (1970)
House Called Edenhythe (1970)
Shroud of Silence (1970)
Return to Vienna (1971)
Time for Trusting (1971) (as by Christina Abbey)
Pattern of Loving (1971) (as by Christina Abbey)
Quest for Alexis (1974)
Jade Dragon (1974)
Valley of the Ravens (1975)
The House at Dragon's Bay (1975) (as by Christina Abbey)
The Other Cathy (1978)
The Silver Castle (1978) (as by Erica Quest)
The October Cabaret (1979) (as by Erica Quest)
Vienna Summer (1979)
Tormenting Flame (1980) (as by Nancy John)
Marianna (1981)
Prisoner of Passion (1981) (as by Nancy John)
The Spanish House (1981) (as by Nancy John)
Design for Murder (1981) (as by Erica Quest)
To Trust Tomorrow (1981) (as by Nancy John)
Outback Summer (1981) (as by Nancy John)
Web of Passion (1982) (as by Nancy John)
Make-believe Bride (1982) (as by Nancy John)
Never Too Late (1983) (as by Nancy John)
Summer Rhapsody (1983) (as by Nancy John)
Scent of Gold (1983) (as by Hilary London)
Window to Happiness (1983) (as by Nancy John)
A Man for Always (1984) (as by Nancy John)
Night with a Stranger (1984) (as by Nancy John)
Champagne Nights (1984) (as by Nancy John)
Dream of Yesterday (1984) (as by Nancy John)
Rendezvous (1985) (as by Nancy John)
The Moongate Wish (1985) (as by Nancy John)
Lookalike Love (1986) (as by Nancy John)
Secret Love (1986) (as by Nancy John)
A Cotswolds Legacy (1990)
thumbthumbno image availablethumb
no image availablethumbthumbthumb
thumbno image availableno image availablethumb
So Many Tomorrows (1982) (as by Nancy John)