Robert Devereaux's picture

Robert Devereaux

USA flag (b.1947)

Robert Devereaux made his professional debut in Pulphouse magazine in the late 1980's, attended the 1990 Clarion West Writers Workshop, and soon placed stories in such major venues as Crank!, Weird Tales, and Dennis Etchison's anthology MetaHorror.

Two of his stories made the final ballot for the Bram Stoker and World Fantasy Awards. Robert has a well-deserved reputation as an author who pushes every envelope, though he would claim, with a stage actor's assurance, that as long as one's writing illuminates characters in all their kinks, quirks, kindnesses, and extremes, the imagination must be free to explore nasty places as well as nice, or what's the point?

His first novel Deadweight interweaves a King-like plot, penile implants, and splatterpunk extremes of sex and violence, managing all the while to be a sensitive, spot-on portrayal of an abused woman incapable of relinquishing her role as victim.

Genres: Horror
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Robert Devereaux
no image availablethumbthumbthumb
Short stories
One Flesh (1991)
Grace Under Pressure (1992)
Clap if You Believe (1993)
The Slobbering Tongue that Ate the Frightfully Huge Woman (1996)Bram Stoker (nominee)

Bram Stoker Best First Novel nominee (1995) : Deadweight
World Fantasy Best Novella nominee (1995) : A Slow Red Whisper of Sand
Bram Stoker Best Short Story nominee (1997) : The Slobbering Tongue that Ate the Frightfully Huge Woman