New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Dennis Etchison's picture

Dennis Etchison

(Dennis William Etchison)
USA flag (1943 - )

aka Jack Martin, Curtis Richards

Dennis Etchison's short stories have appeared in numerous magazines and anthologies since 1961, and in his collections The Dark Country, Red Dreams, The Blood Kiss and The Death Artist. He is also an editor (Cutting Edge, MetaHorror, Masters of Darkness, The Museum of Horrors), novelist (Darkside, California Gothic, Double Edge), screenwriter and the winner of five British Fantasy and World Fantasy Awards. Publishers Weekly has called his writing "the state of the art in modern horror."
1. Halloween (1979) (as by Curtis Richards)
2. Halloween II (1981) (as by Jack Martin)
3. Halloween III (1982) (as by Jack Martin)

Anthology series
Anthologies edited
Anthologies containing stories by Dennis Etchison
Short stories
The Country of the Strong (1962)
Odd Boy Out (1964)
The Fires of Night (1965)
Wet Season (1965)
Bright Are the Stars That Shine, Dark Is the Sky (1968)
The Smell of Death (1971)
The Machine Demands a Sacrifice (1972)
Today's Special (1972)
Calling All Monsters (1973)
Daughter of the Golden West (1973)
     aka A Feast for Cathy
The Graveyard Blues (1973)
Keeper of the Light (1973)
Black Sun (1974)
Drop City (1974)
The Dead Line (1975)
It Only Comes Out at Night (1976)World Fantasy (nominee)
Sitting in the Corner, Whimpering Quietly (1976)
The Walking Man (1976)
We Have All Been Here Before (1976)
On the Pike (1977)
White Moon Rising (1977)
I Can Hear the Dark (1978)
The Nighthawk (1978)
The Pitch (1978)
It Will Be Here Soon (1979)
The Late Shift (1980)
On Call (1980)
The Spot (1980) (with Mark Johnson)
You Can Go Now (1980)
The Chill (1981)
The Dark Country [short story] (1981)World Fantasy
Deathtracks (1981)World Fantasy (nominee)
The Chair (1983)
Not from Around Here (1984)
Somebody Like You (1984)
Talking in the Dark [short story] (1984)
The Woman in Black (1984)
The Scar (1987)
The Blood Kiss [short story] (1988)
Call Home (1991)
When They Gave Us Memory (1991)
The Dog Park (1993)Bram Stoker (nominee)
A Wind from the South (1994)
The Dead Cop (1996)World Fantasy (nominee)
The Last Reel (1997)
No One You Know (1997)
Inside the Cackle Factory (1998)
My Present Wife (2000)

World Fantasy Best Short Story nominee (1977) : It Only Comes Out at Night
World Fantasy Best Short Story winner (1982) : The Dark Country [short story]
World Fantasy Best Collection nominee (1983) : The Dark Country
World Fantasy Best Short Story nominee (1983) : Deathtracks
Bram Stoker Best Short Story nominee (1994) : The Dog Park
British Fantasy Society Best Novel nominee (1995) : California Gothic
World Fantasy Best Short Story nominee (1997) : The Dead Cop

Dennis Etchison recommends

The Model (1987)
Robert Aickman
"Robert Aickman is incomparable - a genuinely authentic original and an absolute master of psychological fiction."

Scars and Other Distinguishing Marks (1987)
Richard Matheson and Richard Christian Matheson
"The central images of these stories are so powerful and resonant that they linger after structure and specific language have been forgotten. Red seems to me to be a masterwork. Vampire is a tour de force of breathtaking virtuosity."

The Castle of Los Angeles (2010)
Lisa Morton
" unique as a fingerprint..."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors

Search for