Judith Flanders's picture

Judith Flanders


Judith Flanders was born in London, England, in 1959. She moved to Montreal, Canada, when she was two, and spent her childhood there, apart from a year in Israel in 1972, where she signally failed to master Hebrew.After university, Judith returned to London and began working as an editor for various publishing houses. After this 17-year misstep, she began to write and in 2001 her first book, A Circle of Sisters, the biography of four Victorian sisters, was published to great acclaim, and nominated for the Guardian First Book Award. In 2003, The Victorian House (2004 in the USA, as Inside the Victorian Home) received widespread praise, and was shortlisted for the British Book Awards History Book of the Year. In 2006 Consuming Passions, was published. Her book, The Invention of Murder, was shortlisted for the 2011 CWA Non-Fiction Dagger. Her most recent book The Victorian City: Everyday Life in Dickens London was published in 2012.

Genres: Mystery
Sam Clair
   1. Writers' Block (2014)
     aka A Murder of Magpies
   2. A Bed of Scorpions (2015)
   3. A Cast of Vultures (2016)
   4. A Howl of Wolves (2018)
Judith Flanders recommends
Dark Water (2018)
Elizabeth Lowry
"In Dark Water, Lowry questions the truth of reality and the reality of truth, merging melodrama with psychodrama, gothic horror with psychology. Mesmerizing."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors