Jane Gardam's picture

Jane Gardam

UK flag (b.1928)

Jane Gardam is a novelist, writer of short stories and author of children's books. She also reviews for the Spectator and the Telegraph, and writes for BBC radio, where her current project is 6 programmes on the suburbs. She lives in Kent, Wimbledon and Yorkshire. She is a winner of The Heywood Hill Literary Prize for a Lifetime's Contribution to Literature, twice winner of The Whitbread Fiction Award (for The Hollow Land and Queen of the Tambourine), and has been shortlisted for the Booker for God on the Rocks (which was also filmed for British TV). Her other books include The Flight of the Maidens, Faith Fox, Going into a Dark House and Missing the Midnight.
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Jane Gardam
Short stories
Bang, Bang - Who's Dead? (1987)
The Pangs of Love (1990)
The Meeting House (1994)

The Man Booker Prize Best Novel nominee (1978) : God on the Rocks
Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction Best Book nominee (2005) : Old Filth
Women's Prize For Fiction Best Novel nominee (2005) : Old Filth
Rathbone Folio Prize Best Book nominee (2014) : Last Friends

Jane Gardam recommends
In the Place of Fallen Leaves (1993)
Tim Pears
"It is most beautifully written, hypnotic as Proust, very funny and full of love that doesn't cloy... It is a dreamy, easy, wonderful read - and quite remarkable for a first novel."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors