Frederick Forsyth's picture
Followed by 37 of our members

Frederick Forsyth

UK flag (b.1938)

Frederick Forsyth, CBE is an English author and occasional political commentator. He is best known for thrillers such as The Day of the Jackal, The Odessa File, The Fourth Protocol, The Dogs of War, The Devil's Alternative, The Fist of God, Icon, The Veteran, Avenger, The Afghan, and recently The Cobra and The Kill List.

The son of a furrier, he was born in Ashford, Kent, educated at Tonbridge School and later attended the University of Granada. He became one of the youngest pilots in the Royal Air Force at 19, where he served on National Service from 1956 to 1958. Becoming a journalist, he joined Reuters in 1961 and later the BBC in 1965, where he served as an assistant diplomatic correspondent. From July to September 1967, he served as a correspondent covering the Nigerian Civil War between the region of Biafra and Nigeria. He left the BBC in 1968 after controversy arose over his alleged bias towards the Biafran cause and accusations that he falsified segments of his reports. Returning to Biafra as a freelance reporter, Forsyth wrote his first book, The Biafra Story in 1969.

Forsyth decided to write a novel using similar research techniques to those used in journalism. His first full length novel, The Day of the Jackal, was published in 1971 and became an international bestseller and gained its author the Edgar Allan Poe Award for Best Novel. It was later made into a film of the same name. 
Anthologies edited
Non fiction
The Biafra Story (1969)
Emeka (1982)
VE Day (2005) (with Craig Cabell and Allan Richards)
The Outsider (2015)
Edgar Awards Best Novel winner (1972) : The Day of the Jackal

Books about Frederick Forsyth
Frederick Forsyth recommends
Cold Cut (1999)
James H Jackson
"A young British thriller writer who will go far."
Flint (2000)
(Grace Flint, book 1)
Paul Eddy
"Fast-paced, taut and authentically researched."
The Mullah's Storm (2010)
(Parson and Gold, book 1)
Tom Young
"Gripping and impressively authentic."
Young Philby (2012)
Robert Littell
"A riveting read."
Killing State (2018)
(Michael North, book 1)
Judith O'Reilly
"New thriller writers come and go. I suspect this lady will stick around."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors