book cover of Gork, the Teenage Dragon

Gork, the Teenage Dragon

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
Fans of Harry Potter and The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy will relish this teenage dragon's spellbinding love story filled with bighearted humor and imagination.

Gork isn't like the other dragons at WarWings Military Academy. He has a gigantic heart, two-inch horns, and an occasional problem with fainting. His nickname is Weak Sauce, and his Will to Power ranking is Snacklicious - the lowest in his class. But he is determined not to let any of this hold him back as he embarks on the most important mission of his life: Tonight, on the eve of his high school graduation, he must ask a female dragon to be his queen. If she says yes, they'll go off to conquer a foreign planet together. If she says no, Gork becomes a slave.

Vying with Jocks, Nerds, Mutants, and Multi-Dimensioners to find his mate, Gork encounters an unforgettable cast of friends and foes, including Dr. Terrible, the mad scientist; Fribby, a robot dragon obsessed with death; and Metheldra, a healer specializing in acupuncture with swords. But finally it is Gork's biggest perceived weakness, his huge heart, that will guide him through his epic quest and help him reach his ultimate destination: planet Earth.

A love story, a fantasy, and a coming-of-age story, Gork, the Teenage Dragon is a wildly comic, beautifully imagined, and deeply heartfelt debut novel that shows us just how human a dragon can be.

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Praise for this book

"No good human won't love this named Gork." - Dave Eggers

"Gork the Teenage Dragon is on fire! It's magnificent and exuberant and ferociously funny, and it's also one of the most moving coming-of-age stories to appear in a long time." - Paul La Farge

"Gork’s no Puff, frolicking in some 'autumn mist' or whatever. Gork’s one badass outer space dragon. His secret weapon? Poetry! Gork’s got it going on. This wonderful, big-hearted, crazy novel is a testament to Gabe Hudson’s ingenious imagination." - Elizabeth McKenzie

"Gabe Hudson’s fire-breathing, page-scorching creation, Gork the dragon, is more human and big-hearted and generous than most people I know. This book is as sly and smart as it is hilarious." - Ben Marcus

"Gork, the Teenage Dragon is sure to become an instant classic, destined to be loved by all sorts of readers through the ages." - Akhil Sharma

"Gabe Hudson may well be the funniest writer working today, and the most likely to break your heart." - Gary Shteyngart


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Strange the Dreamer
(Strange the Dreamer, book 1)
Laini Taylor

Used availability for Gabe Hudson's Gork, the Teenage Dragon

Hardback Editions

July 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Gork, the Teenage Dragon: A novel
Author(s): Gabe Hudson
ISBN: 0-375-41396-0 / 978-0-375-41396-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Knopf
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Gork, the Teenage Dragon: A Novel (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author(s): Gabe Hudson
ISBN: 0-375-71341-7 / 978-0-375-71341-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Gork, the Teenage Dragon
Author(s): Gabe Hudson
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon   


July 2017 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Gork, the Teenage Dragon
Author(s): Gabe Hudson
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Gork, the Teenage Dragon
Author(s): Gabe Hudson
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Gork, the Teenage Dragon
Author(s): Gabe Hudson
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

July 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Gork, the Teenage Dragon: A novel (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author(s): Gabe Hudson
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA